Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ideal accommodations but location is good

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We stayed on the third floor of this older establishment which was run down compared to first floor close to reception. The carpet in our room was stained and the hallways and room smelled of smoke. The bathroom was ok but had a horrific window view of old dirty rooftops with discarded beer bottles and cigarette butts. One of the staff, Valentino, was particularly welcoming and oriented us around the entire city. The location is quite good but the room left much more to be desired so I won't be returning to portobello anytime soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portobello on the canal

Posted Mar 1, 2016
I went and took my dad to ireland. The hotel was OK not bad by any means, central to Dublin. The bar downstairs was awesome. The problem is you have screaming drunk hooligans out till sunbreak and a room with no a/c and open windows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Stayed here for one night and it was good. No frills, but clean, friendly staff and close to sites we wanted to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Good being close to the canal.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: The bar, food and staff attention.
Cons: Television reception in room.
Location: It was nice to be able to walk along the canal. It was an easy walk into the town centre, or there were buses to catch if one got tired.
Hotel reception welcoming and helpful on my arrival. Breakfast experience was good in the bar and the meal deal was excellent. I had a couple of really good meals in the bar, a good main meal with a quarter bottle of wine (or Guinness etc) for 10 Euros. Room comfortable, staff always friendly and helpful. TV reception in room not always good though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Great area of dublin.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Vibrant part of dublin 20 min walk to centre of dublin or easy on the bus. Fantastic food options close by. Free comedy in bar on Sunday night was a bonus. Expect 2 star and you won't be disappointed. Comfortable, convenient budget options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Within walking distance of the city centre so perfect location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cindy from Princeton, MN

Very nice for a budget hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was helpful always with a smile on their face. The room was spotless and the cleaning staff would help with any requests
Location: A long walk from city center but lots of places to eat near by
I was very pleased with this hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy location and helpful staff

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Good price, nice staff, clean room and easygoing atmosphere
Cons: Their rates in the Summer are stupidly high in comparison to what I paid for this stay. I was looking to do a group booking but the rates were stupid
Location: Short walk to city centre. A few decent cafes around and the hotel overlooks the canal so reasonably quiet. Bar downstairs is good for the football.
For me - the hotel location was very good as I had several meetings in the area. The staff were super friendly especially when it came to fixing the internet connection quickly which wasnt working when I arrived. Front desk were friendly and helpful and my room was clean and comfortable. Little to grumble about really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Location: Had great meals at the Barge, just around the corner and the Against the Grain pub.
We enjoyed our stay at the Portibello over the New Years holiday. The staff (Valentin ) was very helpful and the location gave us easy walking access to the college, museum and the Temple Bar and college New Years festivities. There were also plenty of dining choices within an easy and quick walk. The hotel, itself is a teensy bit tired, but for the price it was everything we asked for. The free wifi/internet woked consistently - better than most that we have found, in fact. Biggest complaint? Pillows were a bit uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Nice Hotel by the Dublin Canal

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Cons: Given I rented the room to share with a friend, the double bed in the room could have been a bit bigger.
Location: The Hotel is situated on the corner of a major road overlooking the canal, offering a lovely view, with the city centre within easy access by walking.
The staff were relaxed about check-in time and were very polite and helpful.