Ratings based on 994 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel just outside of Dublin

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Modern touches like USB charging sockets in rooms and free WiFi. Room service was also excellent.
Cons: Nothing we can think of that would have improved our stay at the hotel, we were very satisfied.
Location: Dublin city centre is only about 20/30 mins away on the bus, more than enough activities there!
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a stopover a for a friend's wedding (the reception was also held here at the Radisson). We arrived before 10am and were delighted to be informed that a room was already available for us (a relief after a long flight with several transfers). The lady on the reception desk was cheerful and helpful, and the room we were given was clean and very spacious. To top it off the bed was also extremely comfortable. The service we experienced was excellent throughout our stay, and the food was also of excellent quality - both from a catering perspective for our friend's reception, and from the perspective of the buffet breakfast and the dinner we had in the Talavera Italian restaurant (also where breakfast is served). The hotel was also located in an excellent position, on Stillorgan Road, where the Aircoach does a direct pickup/drop off for the airport run. There are also 2 local buses that run frequently into the centre of Dublin (they only accept the EXACT cash fare, so don't get on with a note or the incorrect change like we did...). Lastly the hotel is a beautiful old building and the grounds are amazing. When the weather is great the gardens are lovely place to be - luckily for us, the weather was almost summer-like for April which made the stay all the better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by caitriona, Hotel Management
Many thanks Rich for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to the Hotel again when next in the area. With kind regards Caitriona
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking, big surprise!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Booked the room because it was a great rate. We were extremely surprised when we arrived, much grander than I thought it would be. Great staff and atmosphere. The hotel is an awesome blend of old and new, easy to get to from the airport by taking the 757 bus from the airport into town then taking the 46A or 145 bus and it will drop you off right in front of the hotel. You don't need to rent a car. I highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by caitriona, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to read your lovely review after your recent stay with us, thank you so much for taking the time. We have such a beautiful and unique setting, which the team here take great pride in. We all work hard to ensure that every guest experiences our property at its best. We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon Kind regards Caitriona and all the team at Radisson Blu St Helen's Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Maybe modernise the heating system?
The hotel is an impressive building in itself with good facilities and very helpful staff. It is on the aircoach route from the airport which makes it also convenient. Chosen because of location as it is near to UCD campus so not quite as convenient for the city centre, but plenty of public transport options. I was early so staff offered me a cup of tea while the room was being made up, and on early morning check-out also offered some breakfast items. Rooms very good and comfortable. The heating system is a little dated but I got it to work. The grounds would be particularly nice in summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Caitriona, Hotel Management
Many thanks Sarah for your lovely feedback about your stay and also your experience with our team here at the hotel. I will personally ensure that your very kind comments are passed on to the team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Caitriona and all the team at Radisson Blu St Helen's Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice hotel close to UCD

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Value, charm and location.
Cons: Space for toiletries in the bathroom.
Location: UCD campus across the street! Downtown shopping 5 km away or 15 min by taxi.
Stayed three nights to attend my daughter's "white coat" ceremony in fourth year of veterinary school at UCD. Hotel is located 20 Minutes walk or 5minutes by cab from the venue. A former posh women's boarding school, the St Helen's has beautiful grounds and an old world kind of charm which would be particularly pleasant in summer when warm weather allows for eating outside. Rooms are clean and quiet. Large bathroom corner shower! Lack of space to lay out toiletries by the sink. Breakfast, usually included, is buffet style with eggs made to order. Excellent value overall!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by caitriona, Hotel Management
Thank you George for choosing to stay with us, it was a pleasure to read your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel and found it excellent value. We look forward to welcoming you back to us when next in the area. Kind regards Caitriona and all the team at Radisson Blu St Helen's Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Southside of Dublin

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Comfortable overnight stay. Room service food excellent. Attentive, pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely surroundings and great hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Stunning hotel, warm and friendly, would definitely return for another visit.
Cons: Our room was in the older part of the hotel so the furnishings were a little 1990's, but the room was clean and comfortable with a nice view.
Location: Slightly away from the city centre but with easy transport in, airport bus stops right outside the hotel entrance or just 10 minutes taxi to centre.
An impressive hotel on first sight - beautiful gardens and everything well maintained in the hotel itself. Reception staff were knowledgeable and quick to register us in, explaining everything we needed to know. Breakfast was a treat and we can see why the bar area is so popular clearly with non-residents as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NI

Perfect location for UCD

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We had a lovely one night stay -secure parking and really lovely bedroom - good nights sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Wonderful hotel with a great location to town and the Ring of Kerry. Beautiful atmosphere with comfortable rooms. Dinner was delicious and the staff was helpful and friendly. We could not have picked a better place stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

Country house hotel near Dublin centre

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The hotel is about 20-30mins drive from the centre of Dublin with a good bus service with stops outside hotel, so you can't pop in & out very easily. Rooms adequate but a bit out-dated. Good breakfast buffet but other dining options very limited & a bit pricey. Generally due for a refurb I think. Great staff though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Beautiful

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Amazing setting! Beautiful room helpful staff especially Lisa- a warm fire in the lobby delicious restaurant willingness to help call a cab and exchange currency they even had coffee tea and a croissant for the early morning travels- we couldn't have asked for more!'