Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Beginning and ending of Ireland trip

Posted May 13, 2016
The hotel staff at the main desk needs to learn how to greet travelers. Especially travelers that are staying multiple nights and purchasing multiple rooms. Barely and hello and barely a thank you. I seemed like an inconvenience. I felt like it was my job to figure out where everything was within the hotel and how things worked. Otherwise the staff in the pub and restaurant and cleaning staff seemed great! Bathrooms need fans, ceilings need paint, better shower curtains. Otherwise seemed clean. Loved the on site pub and restaurant and overall location with off street parking and airport bus shuttle stop was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but lacks enthusiasm and warm welcome

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Rooms are spacious, nice décor and good beds, but in need of refurb
Cons: Staff are disinterested and it lacks the attention to customers of a proper hotel
Location: The location is pleasant but it is a min 20min stroll to city centre
We have stayed at the school house before and enjoyed it very much. On this occasion however we found the staff uninterested and the hotel had an overall feeling of needing some attention and energy. Unwelcoming reception and more feeling of a B&B than hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ann from Glan Conwy

Just Perfect

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We booked in for one night as we were going to the rugby! Perfect location and what a gem of a hotel! The room was more than we expected and the staff were so helpful and perfect! When in Dublin again we will definitely will be back! It is also ideal for getting back to either Dun Laoighre or Dublin Port!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark basement room without working heating

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
I have booked this hotel because of its location (close to my office). When I arrived the receptionist was friendly and my first impression was positive. However, I have to give a bad rating due to the following reasons. (1) I got a room in the basement and I basically couldn't open the window. The room was very dark. (2) It was winter and the heating was not properly working. Even with two blankets it was freezing cold. (3) It was not possible to adjust water temperature in the shower. The water was very hot. All in all a quite disappointed stay, especially when considering the price of 130 euros in off-season.
5 out of 5
by Ellen from Los Angeles, CA

Not your regular School.

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
I loved the ambiance of The School House. I will never stay anywhere else when in Dublin if available. The history of the place the whole experience was super. Trying to get a room for March around Easter celebrations nothing available right now. The open fires in the different locations were enjoyable. The bar does terrific business, great to hang out.The Headmasters room was adorable huge bed, fun, fun, fun. Losts of quirky areas to find, and explore. The grounds have got to be wonderful on a summers day. Every one was so nice and helpful. Like I said just awsome experience. Just waiting to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Old world charm with a great bar and a restaurant. Nice beds and clean restrooms. Not quite a boutique hotel as indicated. Great insulation.. No noise even on days with lots of wind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brendan from Castlebellingham

Relaxed

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely and relaxed stay staff very good
5 out of 5
by Philip from chesterfield

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice hotel, friendly staff,