Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Lovely location on handy bus route into city centre. Very comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid making a reservation

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: It looked very nice online. The outside looked nice. There appeared to be parking
Cons: We made reservations early in June. On September 21, the day before our scheduled arrival, Expedia emailed us that the hotel was not honoring our reservation. Expedia was wonderful and worked with us finding a hotel in the same area for the next night. These reservations were made over three months in advance. I would not trust or recommend a hotel that cancels on such short notice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An excellent hotel with an individual atmosphere

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: A very personal experience, where I felt like a customer not just a number. The restaurant was beautifully decorated with first rate food.
Cons: There was nothing to dislike.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beverwijk

Unieke atmosfeer.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Het restaurant, het gebouw en de atmosfeer. Makkelijk te bereiken met het openbaar vervoer.
Location: In een mooie straat waar veel ambassades gesitueerd zijn.
Het Schoolhouse hotel is gesitueerd in ..... een oud schoolgebouw. Er is geprobeerd iets van de sfeer van vroeger te bewaren en dat is heel goed gelukt. Geen kaartjes aan de deur met 'Niet storen', maar wel met 'Stilte in het klaslokaal'. Het gebouw is heel fraai en met name het restaurant is prachtig. Ook de kamers zijn allemaal verzorgd en traditioneel ingericht. Denk dan vooral aan bloemetjesbehang en opgenomen gordijnen. Onze kamer was gelegen in 'de kelder' en voorzien van een heel groot bed met een stevig matras. LCD-TV en een soort balkondeuren naar een tuintje. Dat tuintje hebben ze zeer creatief en slim gemaakt! De atmosfeer in het hotel is zo goed, dat je het hotel kleine aandachtspunten of ongemakken gemakkelijk vergeeft. De 'techniek' is van een jaar of tien geleden. Denk hierbij aan de TV of de telefoon. Er zitten bijna geen cijfers of letters meer op de afstandsbediening van de TV en ook de telefoon zal ooit wit geweest zijn. Een klusjesman kan best aan de gang om bijvoorbeeld paneeltjes in de badkamer recht te hangen of om hier en een daar met verf en kwast aan de gang te gaan. Al met al een hotel om terug te keren!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The location, staff, and breakfast.
Cons: Housekeeping and maintenance.
Location: Close enough to the major sights that one can walk almost anywhere yet you were away from the hub bub of the city.
Schoolhouse Hotel is well-located for sightseeing in Dublin. That's probably it's biggest asset. The included breakfast was quite good too. Our room wasn't anything special. The bed was comfortable. Housekeeping could've done a better job with dusting. They also forgot to give us bath towels the second night--fortunately we realized this before we needed them. Basically the rooms were tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice B&B

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Nice place, quiet. 15min walk to city center. Dinner in the restaurant was great! Food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Vincent from US

Quiet spot close to busy city center

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel. Stayed for 2 nights. Good sleep in quiet hotel with walking distance to town. Didn't get to try restaurant but breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

Vacay stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Beautiful rooms;each with doors to a courtyard. And the dining was fabulous. Ambience galore!
Cons: Parking
What a fabulous place! Tried to make reservations for the return trip, but they were all booked. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Bedrooms not like photos online, very dated, bathroom had a dirty shower curtain, mould on the tiles, massive crack in the bath, powerless shower and hard bathroom robes. Staff were slow and unhelpful Overpriced for what it was Would not go back nor recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel with nice restaurant

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, very charming. Staff was great. Surprising was quality of the restaurant/bar. Good selection of food and drinks. The location was good, but it's a bit of a walk to get to the center of town, so learn the bus system or maybe even get a car.