Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful hotel, very cozy and comfortable!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Location: Restaurants, the park, the mall.
The hotel was very cozy and comfortable—it felt like home! We had a very pleasant stay. The staff was friendly and recommended restaurants nearby. The park directly across the street is also amazing! We noticed reviews that complained of noise at night, though the hotel was very quiet during our stay (with the exception of some midday construction). Our only complaint is that the local parking was expensive. We paid 35 euro for parking for the night. We were not made aware of cheaper parking in advance, though we did not research this thoroughly. Overall: highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

good hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Excellent room with great traditional feel - clean and comfortable Lobby area functional - could have done more with fires in the fireplaces to make it more homely . Great location 5 min from centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great location but lacking in other areas

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Cons: They really need to improve their wifi speeds, the internet was one of the slowest connections I have ever seen
The location of this hotel was pretty good, you're not going to get much better than that! However 3 things really disappointed me: 1) No elevator, so I had to carry my 25KG suit case up to the 3rd floor on the stairs. 2) The internet connection was absolutely terrible. One of the slowest I have ever seen and almost unusable. 3) The mattress cover only covered 3/4 of the bed and the other 1/4 was exposed completely. They didn't have a mattress cover that fits the entire mattress? It was a little disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

excellent location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: location
My room was spotlessly clean, newly decorated in soft blue and bronze. The only issue was the walls are paper thin....I could hear every phone conversation, snore and cough from the rooms next to me. The bed was comforatble and the atmosphere nice, in spite of this issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

A Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: It's a lovely, comfortable hotel for about a third the cost of the Shelbourne across the Green. I don't need to pay for the hullabaloo.
Cons: I can't think of anything. It's a nice place.
Location: I don't know Dublin well enough to know wether or not it's the best 'hood but it suited me fine. My meetings were right around the corner.
A lovely small friendly, well located and quiet hotel with a swell breakfast. I also enjoy a crisp apple from time to time and there are bowls conveniently located throughout. Ditto newspapers, but not in bowls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Location on the Green

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Great location. Kettle, water, biscuits in the room.
Cons: Lighting in room could be better.
Location: Right on St Stephens green. A few blocks from Grafton Street shopping, restaurants, and pubs. Near Trinity College. Walkable to many attractions.
I spent two separate nights here. Staff was friendly and very helpful, especially with my heavy bags on the stairs. They also arranged for a cab for me twice and the cab was right on time. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Love the electric kettle and biscuits. The internet connection was sketchy. There was always fresh water in a reading room and there is a courtyward (I didn't use it because it was late when I checked in both nights). If stairs are an issue, you want to be careful here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Comfy hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Safe in room would be great.
Location: Very close to the town, park and hop on hop off bus stop.
Very accommodating staff. Very keen to help in all situations. The hotel price was excellent. Situated in a great location. Comfy clean room. Clean bathroom. Hot water at all times. Breakfast was excellent. Catered for all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connectucut

Quiet venue on the Green

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Access to central Dublin.
Cons: No evening restaurant.
Location: Central to all the highlights of downtown Dublin.
This is a nice, quiet little hotel nestled into the Georgian facades of St Stephen's Green. Whiles amenities are limited it does provide a convenient locale for walking to key areas of central Dublin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Great location, good breakfast.
Cons: Room was very warm at night. Bed small and uncomfortable.
Location: Good location -- right across from a beautiful park and close to Trinity College, shopping, and restaurants.
Older hotel that could use an upgrade. There was some leaking problems on the ground floor where we stayed and the carpet (in the hall) had a huge stain and a strong mildew smell. The staff were actively working on fixing it, but still showed the age of the building and facilities. The room was quite warm at night so we had difficulty sleeping, even with the windows open. Bed was pretty stiff, but location made up for the dated feel of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorskhire

Friendly staff, good price, excellent location.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast
Location: Very convenient location, opposite the st Stephens green. Shopping and tour bus stops conveniently located.
Clean and well serviced room. Good ensuite facilities