Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Beds comfy and clean. Location
Cons: Bedroom and overall hotel appearance not as nice as I expected. Bathroom and floors were dirty in some areas.
Location: Everything close by!
Great location in the heart of Dublin. Close to everything so very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Perfect location.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Perfect location, quiet room. Extremely spacious with a HUGE bathroom. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's Ok and the location is good

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location and internet speed
Cons: Update decoration
Location: Lots of restaurants and night life
Location is good, but it's a bit dates. The staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester / Yorkshire

Nice hotel only a few minutes away from Temple Bar

Posted Dec 17, 2016
A very comfy Bed. Fab customer service. Most certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

nice enough, on the river

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: more towels, more inviting decor
Location: temple bar neighborhood
I was expecting this place to be more charming and lively. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a courtyard view. There was nothing very memorable about the room or the lobby. There is a lot of closet space, which is a plus. The bar is quite nice-- tasty cocktails.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Great Location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at The Clarence but felt it was pretty average. Nothing crazy good to say but nothing crazy bad to say either. There is no parking other than valet. The service from the front desk was helpful but we didn't have any other interactions with employees during our time here. The only other time we talked to someone was the bartender at the bar and he was slow taking our order. We were the only ones there and he took forever to take our order and wasn't friendly. Our room was comfortable but nothing special. It overlooked a bar that was very noisy but we didn't mind. The best part about this hotel is how close it was to everything. The Temple Bar area is right behind the hotel. All the other major sights and attractions are within walking distance as well. We walked everything the entire time we were here. This is a good hotel if you want something to walk from that is decent but not fancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Superior service at central location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, service, modern interior
Location: Temple district, old town, Dublin castle
The Clarence is located in the center of town, right next to the Temple district (the pub area). It's easy to access by car and still fairly quiet. The service was superior! Staff was extremely friendly, helpful, personal, and fast. The room was spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Close to city centre

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Really nice hotel & very friendly staff! Would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Great location, nice feel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location, design.
Cons: The one (very) slight negative is that the bed was not as plush as the typical hotel bed. Still comfortable, though.
Location: Central Dublin, just south of the Liffey near Ha'penny Bridge. Temple Bar area. Walking distance to Grafton St., Trinity College, O'Connell St., etc.
The Clarence is a small hotel with an old-fashioned yet modern feel. The building is older and the rooms are not shaped like conventional hotel rooms -- mine, for instance, had a small entry room with a built-in wardrobe -- but the decor is very modern. It's a nice contrast. The rooms are clean and the Temple Bar location is excellent. Dublin's core is very compact, and you will easily be able to walk to many of the city's best attractions from the Clarence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be returning

Posted Nov 16, 2016
We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and we're looked after through our stay. The room was lovely and the hotel is in a great location. My only issue (which I didn't report) was the tv reception (room 212) apart from that, perfection