Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clonmel

We had a very enjoyable stay. Beautiful townhouse

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Superb location,all excellent.we were very happy with our trip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chic central boutique hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed this stay - prime location, lovely staff, excellent breakfast and very comfortable room. I will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value. Perfect location.

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Cliff Townhouse was clean, elegant and affordable with a fine restaurant attached. You can not beat the location - right on St. Stephen's Green, a block from Grafton Street shopping and easy walk to Trinity College and Temple Bar. The Transport for Dublin and all the Hop On Hop Off buses stop right in front of the building. This guest house is right in the center of all the cool Dublin action - day and night. There is quite of bit of construction going on right now, both in the hotel and in the streets surrounding Stephens Green, but that didn't slow us down one bit. One caveat, if you don't like stairs this is not the property for you. The lift is a joke - only services two floors - and the stairs are magically endless. Somehow our 4th floor room seemed to require 8 flights of stairs to get too. For us, it was part of the charm of the historical Georgian building. But no fun dragging heavy suitcases up. There is no bell service. Anyway we loved the Cliff Townhouse, recommend it highly and would stay again when we come back to Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Great place to stay. Close to everything.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The location and breakfast
Cons: Room were slightly small but I expect that in an older hotel.
Location: St Stephans green is across the street. Visit Oscar Wilde's statue there or take a lovely stroll. In walking distance to many sights.
This hotel was exactly what I hoped for. It was close enough to the heart of Dublin without being too close to all the noisy bars. We went to the bars to party and then had a comfortable walk back to the hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. There was a bit of construction going on in the hotel but it wasn't an inconvenience to us. I picked this hotel not only for its location but because it came with breakfast. It was an amazing breakfast. We had our pick from the menu. It was served in style with very attentive staff. Certainly not your ordinary continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location- But disappointing experience

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of staff and focus on customer satisfaction
Location: Walking distance to everything!
Location can't be beat, but for a boutique hotel with this rating, we did not have the warm, friendly experience we expected. First issue- lots of steps! There are stairs to the lift, and the lift only goes to 2nd floor, so lots more stairs after that. To top it off, the List was out of service. When we arrived. The desk staff aplogozed, but did not offer help with our bags. Same upon checkout. We also had an issue with our toilet and we were told we'd have to wait till the evening for someone to look at it. We were then told that they could not find a problem. When we insisted, they sent someone the next day and it was addressed. There was painters on ladders blocking the stairs too, at 11pm. Who does that when guests are returning to their rooms or trying to sleep?Service at breakfast was provided by a very inexperienced server. I know issues occur, but it's how they are handled that set the best away from the rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice hotel, very average service

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Cliff Town House is nice but I was a bit disappointed with the level of service. Check-in was friendly, in passing the reception a few times during our stay no one said hello or cracked a smile and when checking out no question on how our stay was. Based on ratings here I expected better. On a positive note, the room was nice, bed was comfy, shower was amazing and breakfast was tasty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not what you pay for!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
They gave us the last room in the back of the hotel, in which you have to climb 7 flights of stairs (Horrible if you have multiple pieces of luggage or have bad knees). Door to the outside stair case in the back of the bldg was never closed or secure. Mold covered the bathroom ceiling. Wet paint covered all the walls in our hall way and the smell also entered our room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

GREAT LOCATION BUT OLD AND NOT KEPT UP!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Room was not as described. Bait and switch. Order a double, and the single was the same as the double. Watch out for this if you choose this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

boutique hotel with wonderful central location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: staff friendly and efficient. location great- could walk to Trinity College etc. hop-on-bus right across the street.room lovely with nice amenities,
Location: perfect if want central location in Dublin
across from St Stevens Green. small with friendly and helpful staff. wonderful sit-down breakfast with lots of good choices. nice amenities. room 207 at the very top with a view of the street and the green trees was lovely. it did require a climb up the stairs but the staff helped with baggage. this old Georgian house has been remade into a lovely quiet respite from the city. definitely would use it again!
3 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels