Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast area, more staff required.
Location: Shopping, places of interest great pubs
Arrived on a very wet cold day greeted by very friendly staff. Room not ready bags taken and locked away while we explored the city. Our room was very nice clean and comfortable we were on the top floor lots of stairs a lift was not readily available. The bed was made on the second day but room was not properly cleaned. The breakfast room was on both days of our stay total chaos. Tables cramped together in a small area to avoid guests sitting at the larger restaurant tables. Only one member of staff was seating guests, serving and making drinks and on each day he couldn't cope! On the second day we were told breakfast started a 7am. As we had an early flight we went at 7 the only food available was cornflakes. At 7.30 fruit salad yoghurts and hot food was brought out very disappointing. Overall the staff were lovely particularly the lovely young lady who was going on a trip to Edinburgh (sorry didn't get her name but she was a credit to the hotel). This hotel could be great but better organisation and more staff are required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North East England

excellent hotel and location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff attitude was excellent - they catered to our every need. The room and facilities provided were of a very high standard.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central location with a wide variety of shops,pubs and restaurants to visit. Easy access to local transport and a lot of local history to view.
From the time of arrival to departure we found the staff very friendly and helpfull with all our requests.They made us feel at home and provided all our needs without any question. The hotel is located in the city centre with easy access to a large variety of shops, bars ,restaurants etc. This was my first visit to Dublin and a special occasion for my wife and we found the experience excellent. Thank you to all involved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

A good hotel in the centre of Dublin

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: I particularly liked the quirky nature and decor
Cons: It could be updated in the communal areas.
Very pleasant staff and a lovely large room (325). Despite other reviews about noise - this room is up three floors so is not affected by noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Duty Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Great location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Sent to a dirty room , asked for an upgrade , we were shown one but they asked for €50 ! Very disappointing seeing as hotel was only half full and closing next day for Christmas!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BT34 3UQ

The Dawson hotel was sooo disappointing

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This hotel has got nothing going for it apart from the location , it's like faulty towers old and dated , Not worth the money, I would never stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pre Christmas shopping trip

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Superb ---- Location, location, location what more can I say! Staff really helpful. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. Your positive feedback will be shared with our team, which will serve as an encouragement to improve the quality of our services even further. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will have an opportunity to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Duty Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No food and cold showers

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
There was no food available at the Hotel, either in the restaurant or room service, although both are advertised. Evidently this was due to a private function, but I was not pre warned. When I got to the room it was absolutely freezing as the windows were open and it was 2 degrees outside. Shower in the morning was just about bearable i.e. it was cold.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and not too noisy

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
It's a given that almost wherever you stay in Dublin, It's going to be noisy at weekends. So it was with trepidation that I warned on arrival that the room would be noisy as a result of its proximity to a night club. I went out to buy ear plugs, which in the event were not needed, because 2 pairs were provided in the hotel. However, the noise was far less than I expected and my wife and I had good nights' sleep throughout our stay, with the earplugs provided. An added benefit is that the rooms are away from the street, which, in Dublin, is often noisier than the dance clubs! The rooms are well furnished and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is located in one of the more up-market areas of Dublin and we would certainly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Dawson Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Duty Manager