Ratings based on 1,780 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Older hotel in city center.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location and willingness for early check-in.
Cons: See above
Good location but lacking amenities. Older hotel without working computer and printer to print boarding passes upon departure. Also NO coffee or food available for early checkouts. Pricing for hotel meals (especially buffet breakfast) was 30 to 50% higher than surrounding restaurants. Stayed 3 days and was overall not impressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Style and tradition

Posted Jul 22, 2016
I really like this hotel with sense of tradition and class. Nice artwork around the public areas. Just feels good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Perfect

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: The room was very warm. I'm sure if I would of called down to reception it's something that could of been sorted. That's just me being picky!
Location: The Guinness Tour was only a short stroll away. Lots of bars & pubs offering a range of food & live music.
Wonderful centrally located hotel. Very grand. The room was wonderful, beautifully set out & of a very high standard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pesimo servicio

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Muy mal caracter del personal. Nada agradables. La realidad el hotel viejo y sucio, me salieron arañas en la habitacion. no lo recomiendo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

klassiek en centraal.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Prima ligging. Ruime kamers. Comfortabel hotel met fijne lounge-ruimtes beneden. Vriendelijk personeel. Prima ontbijt.
Location: Vanuit het hotel loop je zo het centrum in. Winkels, restaurant en alle attracties op loopafstand.
Groot en klassiek gebouwd hotel. Upgrade naar luxere kamer wel de moeite, met ligging aan patio en niet aan voorzijde van de drukke - maar centrale - Connellstreet. Maar ook de binnenplaats wel machinelawaai, maar redelijk geruisloze airco. Goed ontbijt. Parkeren lastig: je moet de ingang aan achterzijde kunnen vinden. Anders kan je ook parkeren in de Q-parking om de hoek.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Really beautiful hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: It was a really beautiful hotel. The furnishings were comfortable and clean.
Cons: The TV was small and difficult to see from the bed and the bed was really short. I'm not tall (5'9") and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed.
Location: Shopping, nightlife
The hotel is located right near Henry St. which is one of the best places to do some shopping. It's a short walk to Temple Bar which is where the best nightlife of Dublin is located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mini-moon

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Location: Hop on hop off bus is right outside the hotel, coach travel to airport just across the road
We had a wonderful stay at The Gresham Hotel, I explained we were on our Mini-moon and they very kindly upgraded our room, gave us some chocolates and biscuit's presently beautifully and included complimentary breakfast. The staff were very friendly and the location of the hotel was perfect! We would love to visit again soon! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

A faded but still Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: It is an iconic Grand Hotel like the Hotel Nacional de Cuba or similar. I love these old purpose built hotels and hope they can be preserved.
Cons: My main problem was the low level of lighting in rooms due to use of eco lamps . This is very low level and it was difficult to read and do close work
Location: It is very central.
In it's heyday this was a hotel frequented by absolute first listers including Elizabeth Taylor and President Eisenhower. It is still a Grand Hotel and the management try their best to keep it that way. During my stay a maintenance man came to clean the closing mechanism on the room door! The serv ice here is uber excellent and that is their aim. They have certainly achieved it. During extensive travels in many parts of the world I have not come across any better service. It is not cheap and, although the food is good, it is overpriced for what it is and you would be better to eat out in the many restuarants nearby. The bedroom did not have fridges and free water wasn't supplied. They require a 100 euro deposit to supply a room fridge. It is very well situated in the centre of Dublin, very near to the iconic Post Office.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Noise

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Dissapointing experience didn't sleep all night due to noise outside our window an air con vent when mentioned to management didn't sleep all night they said nothing they can do and still charged full price! Customer satisfaction terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St John's, Canada

Top of O'Connell

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Hotel great really, no issues at all except for parking access. As you'd expect for a City Centre hotel in Dublin, with its one way system and myriad no turns, what looks like a simple one minute ride can turn into a forty minute one at rush hour. The summer 2016 Luas crosstown work certainly doesn't help. Park at the hotel car park in Thomas Lane behind the hotel before checking in, don't even think about trying to get to the non existent pre-check-in parking on O'Connell Street. Be wary of getting out of parking garage before 7:00 am your prepaid card may not work, and you'll have to call reception to come over and lift barrier. They're quick though, were there in one minute.