Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Dublin.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff and stunning rooms.
Cons: Would have loved a longer stay!
Location: Lovely restaurants and close to the shops.
The staff were exceptional,could not do enough for you! My flight home was well after check out but not only did they kindly store my bad they also allowed me to use the spa! Beautiful hotel and the room was amazing....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best staff and best hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
From the moment we left the taxi concierge took our bags, we were escorted to our room, everyone was incredible and so was the room! Big, luxurious and in the evening housekeeping came and did the most beautiful turn down service. I have never known such caring, hard working people who truly want you to have the best time. If you don't choose this hotel, well frankly you'd be a fool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Luxurious hotel set quite close to main town

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff, made us feel most welcome. Only had breakfast there, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff, food was plentiful and well cooked - just what you needed before your journey home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Timeless elegance

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The hotel looks very unassuming from the outside but you step straight into a combination of warmth and elegance. The walls are littered with art which catch your eye as you walk to your room. The beds are so comfortable. The bathroom was big with lots of accessories and spotless. The hotel staff will do anything they can to help, the concierge sorted out a restaurant for us one evening which was literally around the corner and superb. The hotel lounges are lit with open fires and a perfect place to relax, there are 2 bars: the cellar bar which is fun and quirky and the hotel bar which to me felt a bit dull and uncomfortable. The service was great as ever, but it didn't feel as if you could have a private conversation without sharing it with the whole of the bar - too quiet. There are 2 things you have to do if you can: book a table at The Patrick Guilbaud restaurant for a fantastic culinary experience. The food was exceptional and the service was a perfect mix of quality, warmth and humour. The other is to order afternoon tea at the hotel which is extraordinary. We were very antisocial and ordered it in our room which meant we could take our time and take photos. If you really want a break and to be treated like royalty - stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Beautiful hotel, warm welcome, great location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Amazing staff and service. Incredible food at the Cellar Restaurant - beautiful on the plate and palate! Luxurious bedroom.
Cons: Nothing! Except I do think the hotel needs to boast a bit more about the Cellar Restaurant!
Location: Right opposite the National Gallery (plenty of fine art in the hotel itself). Fab bistro Hugo and lively pub O'Donoghues just around the corner.
Absolutely loved our stay at the Merrion and have been raving about it to friends and family since. Very much a 5 star experience, and we were made to feel very welcome, without any hint of snootiness from the warm and professional staff. Beautiful drawing rooms and an incredible art collection. Our bedroom was spotless and beautifully appointed and the bed itself was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in; not a particularly scenic view but that didn't bother us at all. We weren't really in Dublin to see the sights, just to relax, enjoy the craic and celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary, so we are really chuffed we chose this fantastic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
A wonderful experience, a weekend away for my birthday, staff were brilliant. Quite formal, in a charming old-fashioned way - though my boyfriend would have appreciated if they'd checked we shared a surname before calling him by mine! 😂 I found it hilarious. Skip the afternoon tea / Cellar bar - cakes weren't special, sandwiches and scones were stale, lovely service and atmosphere but sadly food didn't live up to it. Cellar bar brunch service was agonisingly slow and food mediocre, and atmosphere isn't great. You can do much better nearby for similar cash. The atmosphere of the drawing room is lovely, but stick to a drink or tea in front of the fire. Pool was amazing, very peaceful, and room wonderfully comfortable. I would stay again in a second, just skip the extras.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Amazing Hotel - such a treat

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Cons: The only thing for us, and this is being really picky, the rooms were too warm even with the comfort controls set to the lowest and the windows open.
Location: Excellent location. Very close to Grafton street and 15mins walk to Temple Bar. Couldn't ask for a better location
I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband. I have stayed in hotels which say they are 5 star before which I would never rate as high but this hotel is definitely worth the 5* rating. The staff are all extremely helpful and polite - really cannot do enough for you. The beds and pillows are pure luxury and the bathroom was huge. We have a meal on the Sunday evening in the Cellar restaurant and again cannot fault for the quality or service in stunning surroundings. Absolutely loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Tremendous service and location.
Location: Short walk to Grafton St area, Trinity College, Temple Bar district, Ballsbridge, St. Stephens Green.
Tremendous service, great location. The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable. Service is what you would expect from a five star hotel, but the staff goes beyond even that benchmark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, israel

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Perfect location, beautiful room, great restaurants, extremely helpful staff, one of the best hotels I have stayed in ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Tutto perfetto, posso aggiungere anche l'ottima posizione centrale nel centro storico della citta'.Voto 5!!!!