Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Staff are really friendly, they couldn't do enough for you.
Very central hotel, a stones throw from the National gallery and other museums. Stayed in the garden wing, very quiet. The hotel has an amazing swimming pool, a fantastic art collection and does excellent afternoon teas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic Dublin hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Everything was top class. They have thought of everything!
Wonderful from start to finish. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel is amazing. The room was well sized and stylishly furnished the bathroom large too. The location is very central and easy walking distance to lots of Dublin attractions. The hotel is beautiful with fantastic artwork and furniture. Really great attention to detail providing a lovely 5 star stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Well what a fantastic hotel. we stayed from Thursday to Sunday and could not have had a better time. The hotel was situated in a great location and inside was just amazing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They could not do enough for us to make our stay fantastic. A great number of famous people stay here and we were treated exactly the same as them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Worth every penny, would definitely stay again. The location is perfect, Grafton St and Temple Bar is within walking distance and surrounded by great bars and restaurants. The hotel's own Cellar Bar is also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Staff were all wonderful and so helpful. Hotel was spotlessly clean and in a great location in Dublin. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Absolutely lovely, very comfortable and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very pleasant hotel. Enjoyed our stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Upon arrival we were greeted by concierge and shown to reception. Although check in is normally from 3pm we were quite early, but our room was ready and we were taken to it immediately by the reception staff. The room was very clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. Everything we needed was provided and restocked by housekeeping every day. The hotel has a small gym and spa with a nice sized pool and steam room, I highly recommend it. As for location it is around a 10 minute walk to Grafton Street shopping area and about a 20 minute walk to Temple bar area. There are plenty of good pubs and restaurants in the area. All staff were friendly and pleasant throughout our stay. Should we return to Dublin, The Merrion will be our first choice of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bucks. UK

Simply first class

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, excellent food and amazing staff
Cons: Would like to revisit when the building works are complete!
Location: Walking distance to Grafton St., Gaiety Theatre, Trinity College, National Gallery, shops and pubs etc
I stayed for 2 nights in January 17. My room in the Garden Wing was excellent, (first time I've seen two types of face flannel in a hotel bathroom), room service breakfast was excellent (wide range of choice too), an evening meal in the Cellar Restaurant was first class (especially a raspberry soufflé) and I was made very welcome by hotel staff who were most helpful too. Just one niggling point - I had to work on line in my room all day on day one and the noise of building works all day was, literally, a headache.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray, UK

Wonderful location and the very best service

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Wonderful service throughout.
Cons: It would be nice to have a jacuzzi in the pool area.
Location: Lovely location in a good area - it's directly opposite the government buildings, which is next to the Natural History Museum.
This is a lovely hotel, elegant and not at all showy. You can barely tell it's a hotel from its exterior. You're greeted by the doormen and then a well staffed reception area, there's no waiting. We were on an early flight so we first went to drop our luggage. When we returned later we were shown to our room and our luggage was waiting. We had ordered Champagne for the room upon arrival, that was there with glasses and some little cakes with Happy Birthday written in chocolate (it was my 40th). The room was clean and light and well equipped. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath and separate shower. The TV was excellent - satellite TV channels and free movies. WIFI was super fast, and free. There was a pool and gym - we used the pool twice - this was very nice, dimly lit and relaxing. We ate dinner one night in The Cellar restaurant and we also had the afternoon tea, which was during the week The Berkeley, London, were in residence serving their fashion inspired Pret A Portea. This was beautiful. Attentive and informative service, music from a harpist and lots of mouth watering food! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would have no hesitation in returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Nice hotel, excellent location, some issues.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. The bath and shower were enormous. Attention to detail in the rooms was second to none.
Cons: Bathrobes could clean and new. Also, it's a big hotel and the location of the facilities could have been made more obvious.
Location: The hotel is in the centre of Dublin; a few minutes walk from almost everywhere.
We stayed at the Merrion for my birthday and, on the whole, it was a great experience. The only issues that I could raise are that the bathrobes were grey not white to the point that I didn't want to use it, our room looked out straight into a busy gym in the adjacent building and there was a lot of building work going on. Other than that, the hotel itself was spotless.