Ratings based on 1,563 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorksire

Nice hotel but could do better

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The pool & spa
Cons: Have a dedicated area for car parking tickets at reception when busy with fairs etc.
Location: Great for long walks around the harbour & pier.
Nice place to stay but we had issues at reception. There was an antiques fair going on when we arrived and large queues to valaidate parking. I fully understand the hotel is not responsible for the weather but it did not help the fact we arrived by train and were faced with horizontal rain walking to the hotel. So we stood in reception like a pair of drowned rats! When it was our turn the lady on reception either gave us faulty room cards or did not validate them. After queing to get into the lift we couldnt understand why it wasnt stopping at our floor! So had to queue again only for them to give us two more cards - one of which still didnt work. Approx 30 mins after arrival we got into our room which was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Posted Feb 15, 2017
friendly staff , fantastic service , all round excellent experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Grandeur place

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Lovely surroundings and very helpful staff,car park facilities are tight to manoeuvre around but overall a great place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Free upgrade on check in 👍🏻 Hotel bar reasonsably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyed my stay there and would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaucene, France

Big Old Fashioned Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, old-style feel, coffee bar, location.
We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Marine, although just a stopover for one night before a wedding. Grand, old style lobbies and services, friendly staff, sitting room with over-stuffed chairs... This is not our usual style of hotel but we enjoyed it very much. Great coffee bar in the lobby, handy if you crave the occasional espresso. Best feature: location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wicklow Town

Posted Dec 27, 2016
My wife & I enjoyed the comfort & convenience for our Christmas Eve night. Able to walk to Midnight Mass, enjoy the comfort & excellent food & service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wicklow

A grand hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Ebookers
Enjoyed my stay in the Hotel. It is within walking distance to Dun Laoghaire town - shops to browse & shop around, plenty of nice restaurants offering a variety of cuisines, an enjoyable stroll along the sea front, pier & public park which has local produce & food stalls market on Sundays, DART for easy access to Dublin city centre. Admired some of the old styled interior decoration - reminds me of the Shellbourne Hotel in Dublin city centre. Staff are friendly & helpful. Room was comfortable & clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, nice staff but expensive food.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff; good hotel; food was expensive for what it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a weekend break

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Not much to fault here , My only criticism is the hotel restaurant, food was average but greatly overpriced ,if you are paying a higher than average price for a meal you would expect it to be of a higher than average quality . Everything else was excellent.