Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Reputation is not enough

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Lovely staff and a great vibe
Cons: 400 pounds per room per night gets you a view of the hotel garbage and the sound of the laundry extractors all night and all day
Location: St stephens green is THE location in Dublin
Very comfortable and practical room in good condition - very typical of Marriott hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not the best 5 stars option in Dublin

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Service, housekeeping, room categorization
Location: Downtown close to everything
We were given an extra small room with view on the garbage bins.....even though we booked a so called deluxe room. After expressing our disappointment, (the clerk said that rooms always look larger on the website ) we were given a slightly larger room with a better view. However we had all sorts of power issues with TV not working and power outlets not working. We had to call twice to get the engineer to come and fix the breaker, the second time we had to wait 30 minutes.....on the second day, we left the room at 9am to visit the city and when we came back at 4pm the room had not been cleaned yet. When I called, I was told that the housekeeping "works in circuit and unless I put the card requesting service, it could take a long time before they get to all rooms" (!).....not exactly the standard of a 5 star hotel in my opinion. I booked the Shelbourne anticipating a great last two nights of our Irish vacation but unfortunately it turned out to be a disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Top class historic hotel in great location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: elegance, history, amenities, location
Cons: nothing
Location: St Stephen's Green near museums, concert hall & great restaurants
comfortable attentive enjoyable stay, helpful staff, large room, nice salon service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever been to.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel staff are really friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The food was awesome and everything else about the hotel was really high quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fermanagh

luxury. helpful staff. food excellent. LOVED it.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: the staff - while being attentive and quick to ask could they help, were always friendly, polite, took time to chat at times. Never overpowering!
Cons: a few more chairs in the foyer. and another option on residents lounge - the lord mayor's room still felt like the tearoom - not a bar.
Location: We shopped, wandered, sight seeing...extremely central. and VERY disabled friendly. no problem at any stage getting about in my wheelchair.
from arrival to checking out we felt wowed by the beautiful surroundings, yet not at all overpowered or uncomfortable. We were a party of 3 generations including one wheelchair. NO hiccups. There was a high ratio of staff to guest - but none overstepped the helpful, and friendly line. LOVED the homely touch of slippers out and beds turned down for evening. Breakfast , meals, cocktails, atmosphere...you ticked all the boxes. Special stay and a lovely memory. Would love to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel centrally located. Excellent customer service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mind your hard earned money

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth the price tiny room, too hot, baby cot given with no mattress so baby had to sleep in bed with us parking for not even 24 hours cost 60 euro!!! Rip off Republic is back with a bang. Enjoy the bar and afternoon tea but don't bother checking in.
5 out of 5
by Pat from Dallas Texas

We liked it!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Helpful staff, beautiful building, great bathrooms
5 out of 5
by Alison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experienced

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival I was told that the room booked was very small and only used by business customers that want to throw themselves down for €371 I was amazed. This essay surprise fir s 50th sow as embarrassed to say the least. We were offed an upgraded or. Room with balcony for 30€ a night which we took . The balcony looked down on a car park with offices directly opposite now very attractive. When we went for breakfast we were informed that breakfast was not in our rate another embarrassing moment for €400 no breakfast. I discussed this at reception after breakfast and was told they didnt recommend booking with a third party and as breakfast room gets full They dont sell breakfast with rooms and only tell guests if the rate includes breakfast. As I made 2 separate bookings I had to renew keys on Saturday but was not informed that my credit card left on check in was charged with Friday nights stay without my knowledge. I found this out on Sunday on check out, Then we werewolf our car had to be out by 4 when we called reception and could not get s late Check out . You n checkout we were told there was no limit on car time . Overall hotel is luxurious staff were pleasant and courteous but there was a feeling that as we booked with a third party we were treated differently . I told them it was a 50th present and there was no empathy shown that this may be affecting the experience.