Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Top class historic hotel in great location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: elegance, history, amenities, location
Cons: nothing
Location: St Stephen's Green near museums, concert hall & great restaurants
comfortable attentive enjoyable stay, helpful staff, large room, nice salon service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever been to.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel staff are really friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The food was awesome and everything else about the hotel was really high quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fermanagh

luxury. helpful staff. food excellent. LOVED it.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: the staff - while being attentive and quick to ask could they help, were always friendly, polite, took time to chat at times. Never overpowering!
Cons: a few more chairs in the foyer. and another option on residents lounge - the lord mayor's room still felt like the tearoom - not a bar.
Location: We shopped, wandered, sight seeing...extremely central. and VERY disabled friendly. no problem at any stage getting about in my wheelchair.
from arrival to checking out we felt wowed by the beautiful surroundings, yet not at all overpowered or uncomfortable. We were a party of 3 generations including one wheelchair. NO hiccups. There was a high ratio of staff to guest - but none overstepped the helpful, and friendly line. LOVED the homely touch of slippers out and beds turned down for evening. Breakfast , meals, cocktails, atmosphere...you ticked all the boxes. Special stay and a lovely memory. Would love to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel centrally located. Excellent customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel close to shoping, dining, attractions

Posted Jul 5, 2016
impecable staff courteousness, great bar ambiance, loved high tea and the red white and blue centerpiece for the fourth of July!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Excellent location and well maintained public spaces. Some rooms needed better maintenance but overall excellent facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

a mish mash of buildings

Posted Jul 4, 2016
This historic hotel is a mix of buildings, don't expect to get a room in the section you see in their photos, that's only one of three linked by confusing corridors. This also makes the interior feel small and closed in, not exactly a "grand" entrance or space anywhere. The "high tea" was wonderful, but like everything at this hotel, it's overpriced. My "standard queen" room was very small, with not enough space for 2 people to pass each other without side-stepping from bed to bathroom or desk to closet. The water pressure in the shower was almost nill....took a long time to rinse shampoo out of hair. I'm currently at another hotel in Dublin that is about half the price per night, twice the room size (with a king bed), is also in an excellent location (can walk to everything in the same radius as the Shelbourne), AND breakfast is included! Visit the Shelbourne, but save your money and stay someplace else.
5 out of 5
by Edele from Wexford

First class

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Down to that staff in the residence bar every thing was looked after. Beds were amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel in the heart of Dublin

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had been traveling in Ireland and ended our trip at this fabulous hotel in the heart of Dublin. We walked everywhere - to famous sights, shops and restaurants. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant and a more casual bar. We wish breakfast had been included as we were paying lots to stay, but we still very much enjoyed this grand hotel.
5 out of 5
by Kristian from Højer

Skøn bryllupsrejse.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Skønt luksushotel. Dublins lækreste.