Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
All great but rooms are a tad small. Fan/heater works great as white noise
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

A 5 star price, less than 5 star experience

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: VERY little public space in crowded lobby -- two high back chairs that's it -- for waiting for a cab or to meet friends.
Location: Georgian Dublin/Squares, Grafton Street, museums, Trinity/The Book of Kells, the National Gallery
I booked two room during my stay. One for me and one for my daughters. Just a lot of things malfunctioned in my room -- the TV, the AC, the minibar. In retrospect I should have asked to be moved, perhaps. But what a hassle either way. Thankfully my daughters' room functioned better. Generally the hotel feels just too busy and lacks a relaxed elegance despite its exceptional decor. I was meeting many old friends during my stay and literally had no public seating to wait for them most of the time. The staff seemed overwhelmed by -- I don't know -- tour bus travelers? So I didn't find the service that attentive generally. High tea was quite pricey and I thought somewhat disappointing in terms of the food -- warm, melt-in-your-mouth scones, next time please -- however, the service was acceptable and my school-aged daughters enjoyed their experience. Room service was prompt enough and the food adequate. The limited pool hours for children (who have to be accompanied by an adult anyway) was annoying to work around. I know most folks probably don't associate staying in Dublin with indoor swimming, but kids like pools. Also be travelers be warned: using the phone, even for a local call, could lead to severe sticker shock. On the upside, the location is very convenient and our rooms where quiet -- although we sacrificed having a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Wonderful stay in Dublin

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We had a great time at the Shelbourne for my parents joint birthdays. The room was clean and luxurious and dinner in the restaurant was lovely. We will definitely stay next time we're in Ireland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South London

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Beautiful hotel set within the perfect location to see Dublin. I would recommend this hotel for its excellence in perfection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Lovely hotel in walking distance of city centre

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Everythin
Cons: Nothing
Location: Pleasant location overlooking St Stephen's Green. 5 minute walk to Grafton Street, 7 minute walk to Trinity College.15 minute walk to O'Connell Street
Everything about the hotel was perfect and it is very close to airport bus stop (service 757) and hop-on-hop-off bus tour. Several very good restaurants in very close proximity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Old world graciousness in modern city centre

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Staff could not have bn more gracious and helpful getting the upgrade added to my wife's birthday celebrations staff ensured that We were aware of all the hotel has to offer to guest big thank you and welldone to all staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The BEST in Dublin

Posted Mar 2, 2017
This is one of the finest hotels in Dublin and a treat to stay in. It was my second visit and I picked it for it a location, class and charm. For an absolutely decadent hotel experience, this is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Centrally located, great staff and service. Great breakfast. If the price and the old-fashioned design of the building is not an issue, there is absolutely NO reason not to book this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant Dublin hotel, close to tourist attractions

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The staff are superb . . . attentive, responsive, knowledgeable . . . a true differentiator in our weekend experience.
Location: Convenient for shopping, museums, and restaurants, St Stephen's Green park is worth exploring, Trinity College is a ten minute stroll.
Overlooking St Stephens Green, the hotel is close to the shopping centres of Grafton Street and its surrounds. Trinity College and other major tourist attractions are within walking distance. Amenities are to the expected high standards : two elegant fine dining restaurants; lively bars; a pool, fitness centre and a spa. The bedrooms are clean and with adequate storage space, although the bathrooms are somewhat small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fabulous hotel with excellent servics

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The shellbourne is a lovely hotel and the staff are helpful and friendly. I also enjoyed visiting the well equipped gym and swimming pool. Lovely facilities