Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altehrwürdiges Grandhotel am St Stephen's green

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Lage, Style
Cons: Aufmerksamkeit Service
Location: Stadtmitte, Shopping, sight seeing, clubbing
3 tägige Geschäftsreise, mein bevorzugtes Hotel in Dublin, mit guter Qualität der Zimmer, nettem Wellnessbereich, leckerem Essen, sehr guter Bar, und top Lage im Stadtzentrum
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Central location, check-in staff not very friendly

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Central location in best neighborhood, walking distance to all amenities
Cons: Check-in staff training Hallway decoration
Location: Amazing location, central, next to best square and park, 200 meters from the National Museum, good restaurants nearby
The location is wonderful. Most of the staff are very friendly. The hotel is a bit tired looking. Not really 5-star...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lreland

Common areas

Posted Nov 15, 2016
There was little room for hotel guests to have a comfortable seat and a drink after a days shopping. Most of the bar area was for eating only and the Lord Mayors Parlour was reserved for afternoon tea. A very off putting situation. In the evening when we finally did get a seat in the Parlour the service was terrible, we where left sitting while staff seemed to be cleaning and ignoring us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dungannon

Shelbourne

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The Oyster Bar was nice and relaxing and served nice food .
Cons: The bedrooms(Queen) very small and the view - in our case a flat roof ! .There is a lovely lounge 'The Lord Mayors' but during our stay was 'reserved'
Location: very good location - famous park just opposite -and main shopping street is just around the corner 'Grafton st.' etc
Bedrooms very small (Queen room) no bath and also very very small - no real room for toiletries when unpacked.The view was a flat roof - hardly worth €300-€400 a nite. Also fairly noisy during the nite from air-conditioning /heat units which service the main building.The mini bar was excessively expensive eg.miniature gin almost €10
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Reputation is not enough

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Lovely staff and a great vibe
Cons: 400 pounds per room per night gets you a view of the hotel garbage and the sound of the laundry extractors all night and all day
Location: St stephens green is THE location in Dublin
Very comfortable and practical room in good condition - very typical of Marriott hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not the best 5 stars option in Dublin

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Service, housekeeping, room categorization
Location: Downtown close to everything
We were given an extra small room with view on the garbage bins.....even though we booked a so called deluxe room. After expressing our disappointment, (the clerk said that rooms always look larger on the website ) we were given a slightly larger room with a better view. However we had all sorts of power issues with TV not working and power outlets not working. We had to call twice to get the engineer to come and fix the breaker, the second time we had to wait 30 minutes.....on the second day, we left the room at 9am to visit the city and when we came back at 4pm the room had not been cleaned yet. When I called, I was told that the housekeeping "works in circuit and unless I put the card requesting service, it could take a long time before they get to all rooms" (!).....not exactly the standard of a 5 star hotel in my opinion. I booked the Shelbourne anticipating a great last two nights of our Irish vacation but unfortunately it turned out to be a disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Top class historic hotel in great location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: elegance, history, amenities, location
Cons: nothing
Location: St Stephen's Green near museums, concert hall & great restaurants
comfortable attentive enjoyable stay, helpful staff, large room, nice salon service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mcc

Yvonne's 50th birthday

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Ebookers
I can priase the Hotel and staff , in fact the overall experience highly enough .Their friendly and effecient approach made our stay an experience that we will repeat again .From the refreshing glass of lemonade while checking in to the the arrival of some biscutes on a "happy birthday" dish added to a wonderful experience .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever been to.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel staff are really friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The food was awesome and everything else about the hotel was really high quality.
4 out of 5
by Mark from London

Inn on the green

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel in a wonderful location, but overpriced and our family room was very very small, with a lot of noise coming from the room next door, a leaking drainpipe during a very wet night. It's a beautiful building, but more 4 star than 5 star.....