Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Amazing inexpensive place in downtown Dublin!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: I loved the atmosphere and that it was right in the middle of Dublin. It's right across the street from Trinity College!
Cons: Nothing! It was wonderful!
Location: Trinity College, Temple Bar, Hop on Hop off bus tour, the River Liffey, EVERYTHING!
The staff was super helpful and friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was impeccably clean. They have activities every night, and the people staying there are young, happy, and willing to chat with anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Clean bedding, towels, free tea, coffee, chocolate. Clean communal kitchen.
Cons: The fire doors on the stairs kept being left open!
Location: Right opposite Trinity College, 5 mins from Temple Bar - shops, sights.
As an "older" guest at the hostel, I was pleasantly surprised. At the end of the day its a hostel - you get what you pay for. We had a twin room with en suite which was perfectly adequate for our needs ie somewhere to pass out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Dirty,dirty,dirty

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Cleanliness
Filthy from the moment you walk up the very narrow stairs that the cleaners must find too challenging to bother with. Room filthy, dust and hair from probably the last months occupants. Dust and hair on the floor and windowsill. Hair on the floor in the 'en-suite' which you had to go out of your room to get to. None of us attempted a shower and the sink was so small underneath a shelf you couldn't get to it properly when brushing teeth. None of us wanted to stand on the floor in our bare feet and my socks were so dirty after one night they may as well have been used to clean the whole hostel. Very very disappointed considering the price paid for our room equalled that of a hotel. We were in a very small three person room, the dirt may have been more understandable sharing a dorm with 18 others. We washed our own dishes BEFORE having breakfast. I couldn't wait to get out. Unless you are hardcore travelling types with very low expectations then don't try this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: 5 mins walk to Temple Bar area, Fleet street carpark (prepurchase the day pass online for much cheaper rates), Trinity College Cons: We were placed at the top level, so had to carry our suitcases 3-4 storeys up narrow staircases. Our room was facing the main street so it was very noisy. Noise can be shut off by closing the windows but the room would be stuffy & hot. Bed was uncomfortable, spring was broken, curtains were spoilt, can't be drawn so the people staying across the street can see full view of my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the centre, all staff were pleasant

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The perfect place to stay if you're just looking for a bed and a bathroom. Nothing negative to say at all. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Perfection

Posted Aug 3, 2016
My was short but the location was amazing with temple bar a short walk away and some great pubs in the fleet street area. Its also a short walk from o connell street to boot. The staff were more than accommodating and the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Not to mention they came with cages underneath the beds to safely lock you're atuff away. On top of that there's someone there 24/7.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central convenient place to stay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The hostel is centrally located and it only takes you minutes to reach Temple Bar, the Liffy, the spike, or other major landmarks. Breakfast was good and ample. Keep in mind, that even when you book a private room, you are staying in a hostel so the kitchen is shared and things will not be as polished as in a hotel. It's a young and open atmosphere and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good place to sleep.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Excellent location -- just a couple minute walk from Trinity College. Cheap and adequate breakfast starting at 7:00 a.m.
We (married couple) had a private room with bath. We arrived late and left early. Small but clean room. Note that linens are not furnished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: location, price
Location: had breakfast at O'Neills on staff recommendation and it was fantastic! Bowes pub for trad music, same block as hostel
Located across street from Trinity College, short walk to where you get bus to/from airport, quiet (no loud bars/pubs nearby), room was clean, had a few shelves, a closet to hang a few things, many outlets, a large wire basket you could lock, easy to walk around Dublin, staff was very nice and helpful. Had use of kitchen, free coffee/tea. Staff locked up our bags the morning we arrived so we could sight see until check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At heart of Dublin

Posted Jul 9, 2016
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and I arrived very late. The place is secure and has great amenities