Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 20, 2017
A bargain in October, despite the distance from town as buses connect every 20 minutes from town all the way until 1am ( summer timetable). This hotel does need renovation - note no lifts, although only 3 floors tall. And no wheelchair access as you have to walk up a number of stairs to the lobby. People expecting good amenities will be disappointed - the building dates from communist times and had not been upgraded. I'd rate the hygiene as acceptable rather than perfect. The wifi does not work in many rooms due to distance of router, so you may have to sit by the stairs or the lobby. There is only one socket in each room which is taken by the TV, so you have to unplug the TV to charge a single device only, unless you have a splitter. Breakfast is in a separate building right onto the seafront - unusual but very nice. Quality of breakfast is very basic with very few options. I'd only stay here off-season if you can get a very good deal. Avoid in peak season and pay more elsewhere to avoid disappointment but be prepared to pay through the nose as I was told the rates during peak and they are shocking. In fact I'd say avoid Dubrovnik completely during June to September - it gets hideously expensive and over-crowded. Go during October to early November and from April to end of May.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

You don't always get what you pay for

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It's a great location
Cons: Where do I start? The whole place (built in the '60's I guess) needs renovation.
Location: Sunset beach is brand new. Very cool. Great sunsets. The strip nearby is full of restaurants and bars. Bars only take cash. #4 bus goes to Dubrovnik
It's a two-star hotel. The hotel pics here don't let on that the water-front area is let out to others. No restaurant, no bar and no lift. Grumpy front of house staff. Parking not great. Rooms have little or no sound insulation. perhaps the best review was from the tenant of the beach front area: "Hotel Adriatic is cheapest hotel on Dubrovnik. You rent there, you get nothing.[she pointed at the myriad other hotels] - you rent there, you get pool, loungers, bar. Hotel Adriatic, nothing" The limitations on photo size here mean I can't upload hotel pics, just the sunset from sunset beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield UK

Nice view of the Adriatic

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Location: Regular number 4 bus to Pile Gate outside the old town.
Helpful staff, I was caught up in Monarch Airlines collapse and had booked a further night separately for myself after 2 friends I was with went home. I was allowed to keep the same room which was useful for leaving belongings. Good selection for breakfast in their restaurant over the road. Dinner with the extra night was excellent but at the Hotel Splendid a short walk up the road. All the hotels in the area seem to be the same group with similar signage so I guess they share facilities according to volume of guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nutmegger

Adriatic okay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location - convenient to bus (right outside lobby) and they provided airport transfer (thanks)
Cons: Perhaps a little renovation and interior contract work to spiff it up
Location: Bus stop just outside lobby, easy to get to Old Towne.
I stayed at the Adriatic while at a conference held last week at the Palace. It was a place to sleep and though I'm not a hotel snob, the room was small, the bed was not even single-size and breakfast was across the street. It said there was a fitness center but nope. I'm really okay with 3 stars as a very seasoned traveler but this was 2 stars and one was blinking!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Tv didn't work properly, cleaning service means changing bed and towels and hovvering. Thay didn't touch bathroom, mirrors or dust. Lots of dirty fingermarks on a bathroom door. No lift or help with a laguage.
5 out of 5
by Rosalina

Old world charisma

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
It is an old hotel with old furnitures and no elevators. But that's ok bec overall the personnel strived to give us good service. Our bedsheets and towels were changed everyday. The cleaning lady was very pleasant and always smiling. The receptionists were very helpful with our questions and concerns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plan ahead for high season (July)

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
During high season the price of the hotel is very high due to low availability of hotels in the busiest time of the year. The value for the money just was not there but that is the price of traveling in the peak point of the year. Would not recommend this place for that price. Book early and stay elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Absolutely the worst hotel experience ever!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing! Stay away if possible!
Cons: Remodel the hotel and improve on housekeeping. Hire friendly staff.
Would not recommend staying at this "hotel". Would rate it more like a one star motel. The desk clerk was extremely rude upon our arrival and with the check in process. The rooms that we reserved were on the top floor and there is no elevator in the building. The rooms were supposed to be "air-conditioned", but the thermostats were set to 25 degrees celsius (77 degrees fahrenheit) and you could not change the temperature in the rooms. The rooms were not clean and the blankets on the beds looked like they had been there for 20 years or more, as well as the decor in the rooms. When we complained about the temperature in the rooms, the hotel staff did not seem to care and said that 77 degrees was "air-conditioned". We were booked for 2 nights and checked out after the first night. When checking out, we informed the front desk that we were leaving and the only comment made was "I see", did not seem to care that we were not happy since we had prepaid for the rooms and they got their money. When we asked to speak with the manager ( the evening that we checked in and the next morning) the manager was either not there or "in a meeting". About two blocks away there are great hotels - we stayed at the Hotel Perla, the rooms were completely remodeled and the hotel staff was extremely friendly. This booking was absolutely the worst experience that we've had through Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for your comment. We are sorry we have not met your expectations. We have taken into the consideration all your observations you indicated in your review. Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me. Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Plus side: - good location; just on the beach; bus stop outside the hotel ; great views. Down side: Hotel premises quite dated; furniture too old; beds not so confortable; no lift'; no reception lounge; staff could be more professional and pleasant. All in all, a just about average hotel suitable for those on a low budget and a short break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for your comment, all your remarks and suggestions for improving our service. Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me. Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels