Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel !

Posted Aug 16, 2017
I have stayed in a few three star hotels but this was by far the best. Staff were very friendly and hotel spotlessly clean. Good selection of food served buffet style - cooked extremely well and plenty of it. Was great that you could use facilities of other hotels in the Valamar group situated within easy walking distance from each other. Great coastal walks and amazing sites . Can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, wide variety of food selection.
Cons: Wi-fi connection only in the lobby
Location: outside the city location but bus #6 accessible & a short ride away only. Bus #7 takes you to main bus station for airport shuttle transfer.
Enjoyed our short stay in this hotel.. Accomoadation's clean, Bed comfortable. Got our room with poolside view. Very nice though the entertainment sound from poolside at night can be heard . Ended up 11-ish so didn't really bother us. Nice pool & bar service. Copacabana & coral beach club nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location - would go back!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We (4 adults - Inc. 2 18yr olds) all enjoyed our stay at Tirena. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were all we needed (if a little small) with a door joining the 2, which was useful. Our rooms had patio doors that led pretty much directly out to the pool - which was a bonus. It meant we did hear the music from the pool bar in the evenings but it stopped at 11pm so was never an issue. Excellent breakfast buffet, and evening meal buffet available too if you don't want to eat out. Closest beach (Cava) a short walk from the back of the hotel, down quite a lot of steps. Most of the beach is taken up with the Coral Club's sun beds - which are expensive at 180-300kuna (roughly £24-£40) but if you don't want to pay, there are some handy rocks at the far end of the beach - water shoes are recommended! Copecobana beach is slightly further away but probably a better bet for children, with an inflatable park and shops. If you stay at Tirena, you can also use any f the facilities at the other Valamar hotels at the complex-all very close to each other. The Valamar Club had a bigger pool and more activities for families but we preferred the quieter Tirena pool, even though it was smaller.... the swim up pool bar was a plus point! Pool towels are provided. Buses stop on the road ouside the complex every 10 min for the 20 min trip to Dubrovnik Old City - discounted tickets avaiable from the hotel shop. We would definitely go back! Next week if I could!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

7 night break

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The hotel is lovely and clean. Bedrooms are spacious and I was given a balcony without paying for one!! Only criticism about the bedroom are the pillows - they were awful - too flat and soft. Hotel is ideal for visiting The Old City and Lapad - bus stop 2 mins walk away and buses every ten minutes. Breakfast was amazing - abundance to choose from. Pool area again was wonderful - very clean and excellent sun loungers. Good at the Pool Side Bar was very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again - but would bring my own pillows !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool UK

Excellant Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: locatin, cleanliness
Cons: need a lift/ elevator
Location: Dubrovnik city is easily access by bus lots of bat trips and tours can be arranged
Ideally located, 2 minutes walk to the beach along pleasant garden and 3 minutes to the nearest bus stop Reception was very good, spoke reasonable English and helpful No lifts !! but the bell boy took us and our luggage to the room. Very clean and surrounded by tress and plants. Swim pool, and bar was very good Food by the pool side at night with live music, and restaurant food was very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: Lift access to restaurant, better information on checking
good hotel, food as expected. Pool lovely towels available but was not informed at checking of need to have towel cards!. Only down side was a lot of steps to restaurant (no lift).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, with swimming pool

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, clean, spacious, staff were helpful and friendly, recommended trips and areas to visit
Cons: I would have liked a kettle in the room but other than that the hotel was great.
Location: Right beside the beach. Lots of things to do including boat trips, sports, buggy safari rides. Lots of bars, restauarants. Great place to visit
Room was spacious, clean, with a balcony. Breakfast was substantial. Swimming pool had a bar and restaurant. Live music at night at the pool. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Local buses were easy to work out and stopped outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice enough.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Needs updating to compete with surrounding hotels. Food service above average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, United States of America

Great Hotel for the price

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet.
Cons: Nothing...I would happily stay here again
Location: You can catch the bus into the old city at a bus stop about 150 yards from the hotel and there is a small mini-mall behind the hotel.
I just spent 11 days at the Tirena and loved it. The property is well maintained and every staff member I interacted with was great. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The WiFi in my room was fine for my needs and was always available. Housekeeping does a great job. You can catch the bus into the old city at a bus stop about 150 yards from the hotel and there is a small mini-mall behind the hotel with a couple of good restaurants, mini-markets, and other shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Providence, Rhode Island

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Off the beaten path. Short drive to city center
Our room didn't have a very clean feeling or smell. Parking was also a pain and we weren't given enough information on how to exit the garage, which made for a difficult and time-consuming exit. On the other hand, staff was very pleasant.