Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England.

One of the best hotels I've stayed in to date

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Spa, comfort, location, selection of tea in room, nightly chocolates.
Cons: More local elements, e.g. cocktails from Croatian drinks.
Location: There is a cave bar nearby, which looks nice, but we didn't get time to go. We went to old town each day and hired a boat for trips.
At the price we payed for this hotel we expected something average, but we feel we got something exceptional. The breakfast was a great selection, all very fresh and plenty of choice. The room was spacious with an amazing view at all times of day. En suite had underfloor heating and two types of shower head. All seemed to be brand new. We had mixed weather whilst we were there so ate outside on some days and inside on others, both were good. Likewise there is an outdoor pool and an indoor pool as part of the spa (we also were worried that we may need to pay for the spa facilities - pool/sauna/steam room - or that they may be only available at certain hours, but they're free and open). The bus stop is a short walk up the promenade and cheap with a Dubrovnik Card. A lot of building work is going on down the far end of the promenade to add hotels and complete the walk of the bay - this did not affect us in the slightest, but would if we had gone further down. Closer to old town would have been worse, we feel. Can't fault the staff at all, they lent us an umbrella for the evening when it rained and the local chocolates delivered to our room every night before bed did the trick on ensuring that we always ended the day happy. Blankets, dressing gowns and slippers were in the room to sit out on the balcony at night and see the stars. Best hotel we could have hoped for; we're only sorry that it took until the last day for us to find the cocktail bar on the top floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Ivana Eres, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for such a lovely review.I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience of the hotel Kompas and that your expectations were exceeded. We are also happy to read that your enjoyed our spa facilities - pool/sauna/steam room. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. With kind regards, Ivana Ereš Assistant Hotel Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essen

Fantastisches Design-Hotel mit tsuper Service

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Die Inneneinrichtung ist wirklich ausgezeichnet - und das Personal unheimlich freundlich, hilfsbereit und professionell.
Cons: Das Frühstücksangebot ist (zumindest außerhalb der Saison) überschaubar aber wirklich völlig ausreichend. Alles ist frisch, gut und sauber sowieso!!
Location: Direkt an der kleinen Promenade der Lapad-Bucht gelegen mit vielen Restaurants und Cafes. Am Ende des Boul. fährt der Bus zur Altstadt ab (2€,10min.)
Das Hotel ist unglaublich schön renoviert...Die Gestaltung des Designers über die Kombination von schlichter, eleganter Einrichtung kombiniert mit abstrakter Kunst zieht sich bis ins kleinste Detail konsequent durch. Hervorragend!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Superb hotel & friendly staff

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Great location, very clean, friendly staff, excellent choice at breakfast
Cons: Nothing I could think of.
Location: Cave bar worth a visit, Restaurant More was nice but a bit empty out of season, had an excellent meal at Atlantic Kitchen.
This is a great hotel in a quiet location with very friendly staff, I would not hesitate in returning or recommending to my friends. It was good value when compared to other hotels nearby which did not seem as nice. The hotel had been recently renovated to a very high standard, not sure how the cream carpets and decor will stand up to the test of time but when we visited the whole hotel was immaculate. The views from our fifth floor room were superb and all rooms seemed to have a good view. The breakfast options were good with a variety of hot and cold food. My wife had a spa treatment on her birthday which she was pleased with and we even got a complimentary birthday cake. The outdoor infinity pool and deck were very clean as was the indoor pool. We only spent a few minutes in the sauna and steam room but both were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Ivana Eres, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, I would like to thank you for staying at our Hotel during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for writing a positive review of our hotel. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilities and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future. Kind regards Ivana Ereš Assistant Hotel Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sevilla

Bonitas vistas, bien ubicado y comunicado

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Me encantaron las vistas desde la habitación. Se puede cenar cerca y la en zona es tranquila. El desayuno es bueno y te atienden muy bien. La cama es
Cons: El personal de recepción te da poca información sobre los lugares que visitar.
Location: Está bien comunicado con el centro, aunque el autobus siempre va atestado de gente, y pasa con frecuencia. Hay un monte boscoso con bonitas vistas.
El centro de Dubrovnik es precioso y, si tienes suerte de no coincidir con los turista masivos que vienen en los cruceros, se disfruta mucho paseando. Viajamos en barco hasta Cavtat, eligiendo un día con poco viento, y es un paseo y un pueblito muy agradable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Ivana Eres, Hotel Management
Estimada Patricia Muchas gracias por sus comentarios maravilloso! Nos alegramos de que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel y sin duda estamos mirando adelante a su próxima visita. Saludos cordiales, Ivana Eres Assistant Hotel Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Erinomainen hotelli, josta upeat maisemat

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Todella siisti hotelli, josta helpot kulkuyhteydet mm. vanhaan kaupunkiin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Stylish and modern hotel in good location!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
The Hotel Kompas was a fantastic choice for our first trip to Dubrovnik. It is in a fantastic location on the promenade with a beach and lots of bars/ restaurants located nearby. It is a 5 minute walk from the bus into the old town which is perfect. The hotel has fantastic views out to the Bay and the rooftop bar is amazing to watch the sunset! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and as this hotel is new, the facilities are very modern and clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and are an asset to this lovely hotel! We would definitely stay here again and visit the lovely Dubrovnik!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Ivana Eres, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel Kompas. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and comfortable rooms as well as our rooftop bar Zenith. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Ivana Eres Assistant Hotel Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Fantastic hotel with great staff! The restaurant was a little subpar but the staff really worker to accommodate with your needs. The room and facility was clean and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiesbaden

Sehr schön

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Der Blick auf das Meer
Cons: Das Zimmer sollte gründlicher gesaugt und aufgeräumt werden.
Location: Essen, tauchen, schwimmen. Nach Dubrovnik sind es ca. 10 Minuten per Bus. Bushaltestellen sind in 5 Mimuten erreichbar
Toll gelegenes Hotel. Top Restaurant, top Frühstück.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic hotel! Beautiful views of the coast

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Just got back from hotel Kompas yesterday. I just have positive things to say about the hotel experience. Room was very clean, light and airy. Lots of breakfast options. Amazing service from all the hotel staff. Close to restaurants and the old city (10min bus ride away) Throughly enjoyed my stay and I would definetly stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: could not fault anything
A very modern hotel built into the cliff face, all rooms with balconies overlooking the sea. The ground floor given over to the restaurant and terrace leading leading to the sea. Good buffet breakfast - early to 10.30 am. Did not see anyone dining in the evening, but this was early season. Would recommend the restaurant next door at ground level, or a Bistro at the top level, walk down the road to the right and its the second one. Bus connection to old city very good, every 10 minutes, but can be crowded, runs till late.