Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location but large hotel in need of updating.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, near restaurants and on water front. Walking distance of national park.
Cons: Lighten room, new bed spread, warmer welcome, discount to eat at hotel. Meet and greet at breakfast.
Location: On water front, walked to national park and hired bikes one day, the other drove across island to restaurant hotel recommended.
Couldn't find any hotel parking so parked on the street. Large impersonal hotel in need of modernisation. Dark room with no view and lumpy mattress. Ok buffet breakfast. One staff member was helpful on things to do and places to visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic rooms, poor experience

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location by the port in Pomena. The hotel is much bigger than it appears in the photos and largely seems to cater for package holidaymakers - as a result the lobby /bar area is bland and unwelcoming, the first floor restaurant is pretty horrid ... breakfast is just about bearable, but the evening buffet is awful - poor quality food, uninterestingly presented and staff who seem to have lost the will to live - entirely different from our experiences with the wonderful people we've met elsewhere in Croatia and Mljet. It's a pity really. If you're looking for an easy, no hassle place to stay and explore the incredible national park (and don't mind eating out) then it's fine, just don't expect anything special from the hotel itself. Other reviewers have noted that the place could do with being refurbished - we'd say it's now in desperate need of investment and an upgrade ... it felt like being transported back to a 1970s package holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Staff was very helpful

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Staff was very helpful when I asked them about how I would get to the Odysseus cave by bike or by scooter. They also helped me look for Mt. Montokuc. They even helped me after I checked out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is getting various reviews so I was little bit afraid before our check-in. However, we enjoyed our stay in Hotel Odisej and would definitely come back again. Great location and food, clean rooms and staff willing to help. Do not book this hotel if you expect luxury or fast wifi. Book it for a great location, great access to sea and tasty food.
3 out of 5
by Asif from London

Good as somewhere to put your head down

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Went to Mljet for the national park and this is the only hotel option on the island. Service is good but the hotel is very dated and the rooms are basic. This 3 star hotel is just that and doesn't claim to be more. Dinner was surprisingly good however and the breakfast was alright also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modest but clean comforts in beautiful NP

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst my request for a specific room number had not been taken into account prior to check-in the Front Desk manager was very helpful to move me to a quieter room with the balcony less exposed to the midday sun midway through my 9 night stay. The air-conditioning in both rooms was extremely inefficient. Housekeeping do a good job, the bed linen and towels are crisp white. Good choice of wholesome food at breakfast and dinner. Whilst not all, most waiters in the main restaurant tend to be on auto-pilot immersed in their own thoughts most of the time. All in all the 3 star hotel was good value for my money.
4 out of 5
by Tiffany NL

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
We spent three nights is Hotel Odisej for the genuine beauty of the island national park which we explored thoroughly during our time. The hotel was a very good base from which to do this as rooms were sufficiently spacious, tidy, air conditioned, and cleaned by lovely staff. In fact, all of the people who worked there that we came in contact with seemed kind, and one particular young man at the front desk was sure to help us with directions and recommendations whenever we were near. There was also a wide variety of foods available at breakfast, though I am unsure of options for allergy sufferers. The main flaw of Hotel Odisej is its WiFi, which for us was only accessible at the internet point in the main lobby. Some guests also complained about music from docked boats that went on until midnight that the hotel staff were unable to do anything about, but this did not really affect us as our room was in the annex and the sound proofing of the windows and curtains was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Carly from London

Nice hotel in paradise!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
It's a nice enough hotel, although the hotel staff are really rude and uninviting. The hotel has no soul and is in real need of a facelift! The reception bar area may as well be non-existent, with no comfort or soft lighting to relax. Such a shame as hotel is set in paradise, but this is the only hotel aside from b&bs and self catering...These might be the better option. However, it's a great base for the most perfect setting. They have a great beach bar although terrible cocktails and it does tend to attract the young booze cruise travellers whose boats more up and play loud music all night.... I didn't quite expect this quiet island to be so lively!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing can spoil nature's beauty

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We consecutively stayed at this hotel for the past 3-4 years. But we do not come for the hotel, but the island and its vast adventure options. Hotel itself is a so so. It needs refurbishment, some staff are friendly some not, but they all lack soft skills. For the cost, it is a decent place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Evreything was great! Staff was helpful, rooms clean and spacious and hotel restaurant/bar and deck were all perfect.