Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Paradise on this amazing island!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Everything-substantial buffet breakfast, the staff couldn't be more helpful, the room was clean and comfy, the views are amazing and the private beach.
Cons: Not the fault of the hotel but mosquitoes are still around in early October so bring repellent!
Location: Just beaching and relaxation on Lopud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST

Good but not great

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, the location and sea views
Cons: Cold breakfast, poor gym facilities.
Location: A few local restaurants nearby which are lovely! A few activities on the island but for things like kayaking you'd have to book in advance.
Stayed Lafodia for 7 nights got transfers which were bit expensive but worth it if you're arriving late at night. The guy that picked us from the airport was very kind and the guy that pick us up in private boat. Overall I'd say the hotel was lovely... The staff were very friendly especially two staff that worked at the restaurant (Mateu and I can't remember the guys name.) I was expecting them to be rude from all the reviews that I read but I guess maybe because it was the low season they were not under much stress, but there was one rude blonde lady with glasses who was very rude, which quite bad because that can ruin the experience. Breakfast was good.. but if you are staying more that 3/4 nights it can get a bit boring to have similar things every morning. But there's a good variety of different things.. from yoghurts, cereals, fruit to eggs, sausages and potatoes. They also provide coffee machines and croissants. Me and my friend only had a b&b room so other times we went to the local restaurants and in Dubrovnik. But did eat at the restaurant twice.. and I wouldn't recommend it to be honest but their pizzas are ok. The room was nice and clean.. Was cleaned every morning. I was disappointed by their gym facilities... there is only two machines and not much else is provided. And their spa facilities are nice but I expected a bit more... however the sauna rooms were very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Was a great stay, I would highly recommend the the spa package
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel that needs a little decorative attentio

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: A beautiful island. Good restaurants and wonderful walks. Well placed to explore Dunbrovnik and the neighbouring islands.
A pleasant holiday at the Lafodia, which is essentially a very good hotel. However, there is some room for improvement. Decoratively, the hotel is not in tip-top condition. There was damage to the the paint in my room, which had not been attended to and mouldy on the sealant around the bath. It is some years since the hotel was restored, and the owners would do well to take advantage of the close season to carry out a lot of repair work. Breakfast is another less than pleasing area. It is buffet-style and can be utterly chaotic. Fruit juice often is reconstituted and not very palatable. The hotel frequently runs out of basic items such as saucers and teapots. Toward the end of the breakfast session, things such as croissants go into short supply, so it literally becomes a bun fight. I actually think the Lafodia would benefit from the owners raising their prices a bit, to enable them to raise standards. Nevertheless, this is a good hotel on a beautiful island with wonderful walks. I would return, but not for a few years, after - I hope - some upgrade work has been done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latvia, Europe

Excellent location, perfect views and atmosphere.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Enjoyed my stay (with the family, including infant) a lot. SPA facilities and pools are georgeous. Also access to the beaches is convenient and comfortable even with the stroller. Very good service. The only remark - cleaning of room could be better. Also not as good variety of choice of food for breakfast, but that is minor. The hotel staff was very helpful. I am seriously considering coming back one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful hotel, overlooking the water

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Room, staff, extra facilities and food was all great! Dalmar was a fantastic restaurant for dinner!
Cons: NA
Location: Location is a great quiet spot if you don't want to stay in the main city but offers convenience as it is only an hour to get to dubrovnik via ferry
One of the best hotels we stayed in, has everything you could ask for. Lopud Island is about an hour ferry from dubrovnik but is one of the best places in europe! Lot's of cool treks to do, including the fortress at the top which has some of the most amazing views! Staff are exceptional and the facilities on offer are simply amazing! Absolutely gorgeous hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Sep 24, 2016
If you want a proper chill out holiday, this is the place. No cars just a few bikes and golf buggies. Hotel is superb, nice beach and lovely pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel on Lovely Island

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Stunning hotel on a fantastic quiet island, breakfast was great, sea kayaks and jet skis available for hire, nice private beach.
Cons: Beach Bar staffing.
Location: There are several restaurants in the bay so not restricted to the hotel, there are trails for walking & biking round the island and not far to Sunj.
Hotel was amazing. Stunning room and view, lovely private beach (suspect that it could be very busy in the height of summer) with sea kayaks and jet skis for hire. I wasn't particularly a fan of the aqua aerobics at 11.30 every day with blaring music played across the beach! The facilities of the hotel were amazing and we had an amazing stay. The beach bar staff didn't quite live up to the rest of the hotel standards, it would often take a long time to get served either at the bar or at the table and we often overheard complaints about the food being extremely slow and often the wrong meal delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Best of the BEST

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We spend one week at this hotel everything was perfect (breakfast,staffs,room etc.) it was so relaxing and carefree. I must thank all the staffs for my birthday cake in my room it was very thoughtful. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a very relaxing holiday

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We arranged transfers with the hotel and were collected at the airport by private taxi and then by boat which was great. Arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We were on half board and found the food to be good, breakfast was perfect for all 5 of us, all with different tastes, and the dinner choices were varied and well cooked. The staff in the restaurants and bars were all great with nothing too much trouble. The entertainment was unobtrusive and fun, this is a small island so it was quite nice to have something to do. The hotel beach and sea was perfect, the pools were cold! All in all we had a relaxing week, with a day trip to Dubrovnik which was fantastic. Would definitely return.