Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good place to stay at very reasonable rates!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The location mainly!
Cons: It was a little old fashioned and a microwave would have been nice!
Location: It is almost on the beach and the terrace has nice views but not of the sea. There are shops and supermarkets close by and many cafes and restaurants
The location of 'Vila Vala' is good. It is two minutes walk to the local beach and about 40 minutes walk to the Old Town of Dubrovnik but there are frequent buses too! There are though about 50 steps down to the Promenade, which is awash with 'eateries'! The friendly owners, Timmy and Novak, are always on hand but are not intrusive! The apartment I was staying in was a little outdated but the kitchen was pretty well equipped and overall the place was comfortable. And the weather, for October, was in the early twenties and the sea still warm!!
5 out of 5
by David from Sydney

Excellent, like a self-contained unit!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
For a 2 star hotel we were super impressed! It had a kitchenette with everything you need (microwave, hotplate, kitchenware etc.). It was really like having a self contained unit, just absolutely perfect and so close to the beach (barely 200 meters away from the entrance). The air conditioning in the room worked really well, and the wifi in the common area was strong. We also used the TV for the France-Germany Euro Cup soccer game and it worked fine. The owner of the hotel was very kind and had the cutest little dog (Reo or Leo?) who loved to play. We would definitely come back to this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Novak, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you very much for you review. We are very glad that you were satisfied with us and Dubrovnik. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Novak
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for budget travel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: location, friendly staff
Location: there are several restaurants, bars, pubs and events around the area. Most importantly it is 5 min from a beautiful pebble beach
The place is located around 40 minutes from the old city if you want to walk and 10-15 min by bus. The area around it is full of restaurants and bars and it is a 5 minute walk from Lapad beach. The lady who owns the place is very friendly and helpful. if you are on a budget, that's the perfect place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by bart from Goole

villa stay

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Good family villa very good stay for the price
5 out of 5
by lucy from isle of wight

lovely stay at villa valla

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
we had a great time here. The family who own it/run it were lovely and helpful .We liked the apartment. the terrace was great for eating out on.The apartment was comfortable though old fashioned. The beds are comfortable but the pillows need upgrading as they were lumpy and there are only sheets not duvets. This is probably fine in the summer but getting into Autumn a light duvet would have been nice.we will definetely stay here again. brilliant location. fantastic value for money.
4 out of 5
by Traveller from United Kingdom

Good value

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
This place is good value for money. The apartment was spacious and the kitchen well equipped. As other reviews have mentioned, the condition of the hotel is a bit on the old side and it was clear it hasn't been renovated for a while. It was clean though. The location is fairly nice but a 15 min bus ride (or 50 min stroll) from the old town. Nevertheless, there are bars, restaurants and supermarkets close the the apartments though. There is also a nice beach 10 min away. The host was very nice and welcoming.
3 out of 5
by Dom from York

Good location, dissapointing villa

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
The location was good but the villa is abit disappointing with a pretty horrible bathroom. Had a good balcony with a partial sea view which was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcelo from London UK

Very nice and spacious apartment in Dubrovnik

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The location, the cleanness, the space...
Cons: Just add an oven.
Location: Lapad area is quite a posh area, the beach and all the amenities are near and very easy and quick to reach the old town.
We were 3 friends that stayed in the beautiful city of Dubrovnik for 5 nights (wish we could stayed longer). We were looking for a cheap hotel and fortunately we found Vila Vala. We were not sure at first because in the pictures the apartment looked a bit dated, however, the price was fantastic £141 for all nights for all 3 of us. The apartments is in Lapad area of Dubrovnik, around 20 by bus from the old town. The building belongs to a family who runs the apartments and live in one of the apartments downstair, they are friendly and helpful. The apartment is very big around 80 sq metres, it has a huge balcony with see and village view, it is in a quite posh area of Lapad and all the restaurants and other amenities are just 2 minutes walking, so is the lovely beach. There is a nice supermarket near, where we bought food for breakfast and dinner, as i love to cook, the only thing that i missed was an oven but all the rest is very good for the price. The apartment was very clean and everyday the housekeeper came to organise and even change the towel. We are planing to return to Dubrovnik maybe next year, and we will stay in this apartment again for 100% sure.