Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubuque

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: close to restaurants
Cons: friendlier staff and securer outside doors
Location: close to main highway and restaurants
checking in the clerk was not the friendliest- on line it said it had breakfast however the clerk never went over anything with us other than check us in! however when checking out the clerk was very cheerful! also the card swipe was not working on the outside of the building so anyone could go in and out with needing a card- a little worrisome- bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest either
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Decent hotel close to University of Dubuque campus

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Close to where we wanted to be.
Location: Near University of Dubuque and the mall and lots of places to eat.
Stayed there while visiting our son. Room was clean and appeared to have been repainted relatively recently. Bed was comfortable, A/C worked well, TV was relatively new and had a lot of channels. Bathroom was pretty clean. Would stay there again at the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha Nebraska

Clean hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel was clean. It took a while to get checked in as it was kind of busy and there was only one person at the counter. The beds were not comfortable at all and we even woke up to sore backs. And just and FYI there is no elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Loud and noisy rooms. No elevator. Bath tubs that are painted, and the paint is peeling. Room a/c is noisy with no option to keep thge fan running to try and drown out all the noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay in a Pinch

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Decent location in the burbs of Dubuque.
Cons: A good face lift. Improved beds. Open the breakfast area. I like to sit there very early in the morning and read or work, but the room was locked.
Location: Quick access to all things Dubuque.
Dated and in need of a good sprucing up. My bed was concave, like a wide shallow bowl. Refrigerator in the room looked like 1972 era with old cigarette burns on the top. But it worked well. Bathroom adequate. Free breakfast a little limited, but okay. Coffee weak and institutional in an old 1965-esque Bunn machine. It was an overall hotel experience more suitable for 2/3rds the price, but one could do worse. we needed one night and that's what it gave us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreasonable

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Canceled my stay. Was charged for the entire booking, 4 days! Will not refund per policy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Nice centrally located

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We enjoyed our time there. All the staff was super nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Only in a pinch

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: The staff was great but the interior of the hotel needs help.
Location: It was within a 10-15 minute drive from all of Dubuque's attractions.
The hotel looks OK from the outside but it needs vast improvements on the inside. In the first room we had, there was a big area of mold on the wall. My wife went and talked to the front desk and they were very pleasant to work with and set us up in a new room right away. This room looked and smelled much better. My 11 year daughter went swimming and found a bandaid floating in the pool that really grossed her out. We thought everything was fine with the new room until the next morning when there was water on the bathroom floor. I discovered that there was water leaking from the overhead light in the bathroom. I notified the front desk as we were checking out so I don't know if there was anything done about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Mediocre

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel was clean. Pool was very cloudy. Key lock on my room door was broken and staff made it seem like it was my fault and very intrusive to her time to rekey my door EVERY TIME IT CLOSED. Beds were extremely hard. Not comfy at all. Hot parts of breakfast were good, cold parts not. Yogurt was frozen, juice was very not right. Again same staff was not concerned at all. Overall I would give it a 2.5. Maybe would stay again in a pinch but would definitely not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Suit does not mean sofa bed

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: A remodel is in order
Location: we only stayed one night as a stopover
Rooms are identified as suites but do not include a sofa bed. Only a recliner. it does have the microwave, fridge etc. This hotel needs to be updated. The staff was willing to accommodate