Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Not happy that we found dead bugs and food crumbs in the sofa bed and the floor wasn’t very clean. Would’ve liked to have fan in the bathroom. The breakfast was okay the sausage and biscuits and gravy was very good but the hard boiled eggs very hard and oatmeal was too liquid. Staff were extremely nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkville, IL

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The hotel seemed a little out dated but the room was clean and the staff nice. Breakfast was good too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naperville, Illinois

not too happy

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: towels
Location: too far from Galena
the first room we were assigned on the second floor had read newspapers on the desk , the bed looked like someone took a nap in it and a brokem pen on the night stand. They did move us to a suite on the first floor it was ok but had no closet. Breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by scott, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your issues with my Front desk and Housekeeping staff, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iL

Quietly located hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Add exhaust fan to bathroom. Fix leak hidden in wall!
Location: A little off the beaten path but an easy drive to the Mall, colleges and even downtown Dubuque.
A bit difficult to find and not the easiest hotel to get to. Room was clean and relatively comfortable. Needs some issues addressed as I could hear what appeared to be a drip in the wall whenever the resident in the upper floor unit ran the shower! You could see where they had repaired a leak once before. No exhaust fan in the bathroom so got very steamy in there when you showered and took forever to be able to see in the mirror after a shower. On plus side, there were several other mirrors one could use! Breakfast was decent and plenty of seating. Safe neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delavan , Wisconsin

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: I always stay at Country Inn and Suites; no more.
Cons: Staff.
Location: OK
I was charges $170.00 for one night on a $ 90.00 room.. The staff didn't inform me that I was being over charged. I have 23000 points with Carson frequent stay program.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

No smoking room smells of smoke, room had hazards

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The hotel is not up to date. Our room was a non smoking room that had cigarette burn holes in the couch cushion and smelled of old mildew and smoke residual. The carpet was gross and I did not feel comfortable to walk around without my shoes on. A pillow had such a yellow stain on the pillow it was visible through the pillow case. Lastly, the blow dryer was missing the back screen cover and I realized this too late. My hair, medium length, was sucked into the blow dryer and I had no choice but to rip it out. There was nothing comfortable about our stay. I wrote a note to management about our issues and we have never heard from them. Clearly our safety and satisfaction is not a priority. The front desk woman was very sympathetic to our issues, but unfortunately her hands are tied. We will never stay at this hotel again until there is a remodel done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by scott , Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your issues with my Housekeeping staff, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids

Toilet was filthy, items left from previous guest

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing at this time.
Cons: This filth should not be tolerated.
The toilet and toilet seat were dirty and clearly had not been cleaned before we arrived. There were dirty towels hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Large containers were left in the refrigerator from previous guests. When we advised staff, we were told that they had had some reports like this regarding house keeping in this area of the hotel. I feel our room was overpriced to begin with and no compensation was offered. Very disappointed in this Country Inn and Suites. We have stayed in many over the US and this is atypical for this hotel chain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ingleside, IL

comfortable

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The location, and the quietness, we didn't get the room until close to midnight, but there was no noise from neighboring rooms, it made for a good nig
Cons: Update the bathroom
Location: We didn't do anything in town
An average room, nicely appointed with a mini fridge, and a coffee maker. A comfortable bed, and a decent breakfast in the morning. The place is showing it's age, especially in the bathroom, peeling wallpaper, and the hardwater has taken it's toll on the fixtures. It served it's purpose, we got a good nights sleep to travel in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel is run down

Posted Jul 24, 2017
the breakfast was not very good at all, the pool and hot tub were not open for the two days we stayed. I asked to talk to the manager, he left for the day (at 10:30) we checked out, he was suppose to call me I left my name and number, he never returned my call.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older dated hotel but comfortable

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We weren't looking for anything fancy, we only needed a place to sleep. Upon opening the door there was an overwhelming smell of mustiness and the floor near the air-conditioner was wet. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the bathroom, but the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff members were very nice and respectful and I was quite impressed with the free breakfast. I feel the price is a little steep but wouldn't be afraid to stay here again.