Ratings based on 1,116 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, Colorado

Incredible Hotel In The Heart Of Dubuque

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Extremely convenient location, a fantastic ambiance throughout, and the top-notch staff.
Cons: Maybe a free continental breakfast?
Location: The hotel is located within walking distance to the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, a Casino, and a lot of great restaurants & pubs
Everything about my stay at the Julien was top-notch, from the greeting by the staff to the cleanliness of the room to the comfort of the bed. It is difficult for me to imagine a bigger bang-for-the buck hotel stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience and affordability
Excellent alternative if you have a conference at Grant River Center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

historic hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
No complaints. Nice place. Beautiful lobby, lots of historic charm. Nice pool area. Nice room. Clean and quiet. thanks for the high up room, without asking. Staff was a little hands off, so hard to give a 5. Only a tip, not a complaint... mention that there is coffee in the lobby in the morning, even though it is provided in the room. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, MN

Just one more day here: A nice get away

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: We like the timeless charm of the lobby and updated quiet large hotel rooms. The lobby is of warm woodwork with gold accent in grand proportions.
Cons: Restaurant details. Asked about a wine and our server asked bartender who read bottle label. Breakfast: had coffee cup run empty both mornings.
Location: We like the hotel for quiet getaways, and spend the day at places like Eagle Point Park nearby, drive along the river or go to nearby old towns.
My wife and I do not hold the normal M-F work schedule and so find our "weekends" sometimes land on a Tuesday-Wednesday or Thursday-Friday. It was this time with the former and we wanted to get away. My wife found a room at the Hotel Julienne most reasonable. We have stayed here prior and it really is one of our favorites. Whenever it is convenient and we are anywhere remotely close, this is our go to place. The site was restored to its former glory and the restoration work was done so well that the hotel seems timeless, in that stepping through the hotel doors, one steps in to a wonderful calming and gracious environment. The lobby is wonderfully grand and invites one to linger. Done with class. I can see why often when we have come here it is busy. We arrived in the mid-evening and check-in was handled promptly by the gentleman behind the desk. In minutes we were in our room, high above any noise of the city. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and we slept well. We wished for nothing other than that the morning not to arrive too soon. In the morning the hotel was again peaceful when we awoke and we showered and such. The bathroom is decently large and well laid out. We good breakfast on all mornings we were there. We also had dinner there on the second night. The restaurant environment has a charm that helps to calm the soul. After checkout as we were leaving my wife sighed and said, "Just one more day here". That sums it up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Ok hotel, close to casino

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice but bed was uncomfortable and pillows were like sleeping on bricks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Historic Hotel right downtown

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Large room-spacious bathroom. Windows open for fresh air. Comfortable bed and quiet, restful sleeping. Had a nice swim in the spacious pool.
Cons: Wanted to leave the windows open for fresh air but as there were no screens and it was summer, I felt I had to keep them closed. Screens recommended.
Location: Casino, river walk, Mississippi River Museum, restaurants, coffee shops, great early-century architecture all around you.
Comfortable 4-night stay, downtown location convenient for walking everywhere. Enjoyed dinner twice in the in-house restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This was our third stay; the beds are very comfortable. The local restaurants are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The historic character.
I loved this hotel so much we chose a return route through Dubuque and booked again. The location is fantastic for exploring the city. Walkable to the National Mississippi River Museum, which took two days to see and will be another reason for us to return to Dubuque. The hotel is also a short walk to the Fenelon Place fenicular, a wonderful historic ride with a view of the river that is not to be missed. Parking was easy, though we left the car in the hotel lot and walked everywhere. There were many more things to see and we were sorry to leave much undone in Dubuque. Loved the town and hope to return someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decorah, IA

Great overnight

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Quiet, relaxing and friendly. Restaurant has gone food at reasonable prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Close to so many clubs and restaurants. Great experience!!