Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Solon Langworthy Dubuque B & B

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Many things to do and see in and around Dubuque, IA.
Very nice place. WE both enjoyed it as a comfortable, clean, and restful place for our 21st wedding anniversary. No interaction with owners/managers disappointing. Why have a B & B if you can't converse with the hosts, or make requests?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Really cool converted, older house

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Whirlpool tub, kitchen, room layout
Cons: Breakfast
Location: We were only there for the night because we were checking out properties in Galena. We didn't really spend time in Dubuque.
It was slightly strange that no one was there to check us in, and that there was trust to find our room, but I did really enjoy the open kitchen in the middle of the house, so that anyone can use the fridge/freezer and grab snacks at night. The only issue I really had was that the only hot breakfast option was a waffle maker with pre-portioned batter in the fridge. It was a little thick because the batter had been sitting all day and night. Still tasty, but when I book a B&B, I usually expect to have freshly cooked breakfast by the owner/s. The whirlpool was lovely, and the overall feel of the older house was great! I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: It was a nice quiet location. The suite was super roomy. I would stay here again.
Cons: The out side stairs up to the house would be difficult for someone with mobility issues. They would also benefit from more outside lighting by the stairs and walkway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT HAPPY

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We thought that we were getting at least a queen size bed. The mattress was so hard that my husband couldn't sleep. The lighting was really poor and hard to get ready. We never did see anyone that ran the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and quiet.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location and easy place to stay when around town. Overall was quiet and didn't spend time in the room but main negatives are the internet wasn't available and there is no Cable. The room smelled musty and had no AC to run to dry it out. The room we had was two rooms /w a jack/jill style bathroom. The bathroom had no toiletries, hair dryer or standard things you would expect to find. Water pressure in shower was severely lacking.. The mattress was ok in one of the rooms but the odor was strong enough that it was an issue. Was quiet and good location though but wouldn't have felt comfortable staying there for an extended stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private and clean

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Was a nice private stay didn't see another person even thought there were 4 other people staying there which was nice. The room was nice and comfy and clean. I have nothing bad to say about it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just right

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I had a most pleasant stay-over while enjoying the Duluth downtown dining and river museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great get away

Posted Aug 1, 2016
In a quiet residental area, full of large unique Old homes. Very self serve b&b, quiet. Fresh air.loved the firm bed and deep tub Lots of breakfast items coffee etx. Game books magazines all over internet didnt work l. Hope to come back soon.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Savanna, IL

Very Nice Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice bed and breakfast. Super quiet and relaxing. Really nice jetted tub. Amazing breakfast. Overall a great experience. I will definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Troy

Motel 6 Quality for 3X the Price!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
This B&B describes itself as romantic, elegant, and exclusive. I had a hard time finding these attributes anywhere around the property. Upon arrive you will pull up to a home with rotting rail road ties as landscaping, missing pavers from the walkway, and a dilapidated front entry. Sounds romantic, right? our room was clean and ready upon arrival, the bed was adequately comfortable and the jetted tub was nice. The strange closet that housed the toilet was...small. I'm not an extremely large man, but my knees hit the wall in the toilet cubby. I appreciated the fact that breakfast was on our own time. I enjoyed the waffle maker and the generous bowl of fruit. I was disappointed in the Aldi coffee, soda, etc. I use this stuff at home, so I'm not "too good" for these items. I just have an expectation that when I pay a premium price that I would also get something a bit gourmet. The food, along with the toiletries, etc in the room simply made the place feel cheap. And in my world cheap does not equate with elegant or exclusive. I've stayed in nicer boutique hotels for less money. I suggest that you do the same instead of booking your stay at this B&B.