Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Troy

Motel 6 Quality for 3X the Price!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
This B&B describes itself as romantic, elegant, and exclusive. I had a hard time finding these attributes anywhere around the property. Upon arrive you will pull up to a home with rotting rail road ties as landscaping, missing pavers from the walkway, and a dilapidated front entry. Sounds romantic, right? our room was clean and ready upon arrival, the bed was adequately comfortable and the jetted tub was nice. The strange closet that housed the toilet was...small. I'm not an extremely large man, but my knees hit the wall in the toilet cubby. I appreciated the fact that breakfast was on our own time. I enjoyed the waffle maker and the generous bowl of fruit. I was disappointed in the Aldi coffee, soda, etc. I use this stuff at home, so I'm not "too good" for these items. I just have an expectation that when I pay a premium price that I would also get something a bit gourmet. The food, along with the toiletries, etc in the room simply made the place feel cheap. And in my world cheap does not equate with elegant or exclusive. I've stayed in nicer boutique hotels for less money. I suggest that you do the same instead of booking your stay at this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Agatha from Waterloo

Very Disappointed!

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Definitely not your typical B&B. Pulling up in front of the house, you get a bad feeling. The house desperately needs to be painted and the porch boards are rotting away. Once inside, you get a better feeling, but there was an odd smell. There was absolutely no human interaction with the hotel staff. Upon arrival, we couldn't find anyone around. We then noticed a note on a door. It had our name on it, welcoming us to the B&B, giving us instructions and the phone numbers of staff. Since nothing was mentioned of "sorry we couldn't meet you in person", we're assuming the is the norm. The room key was in the lock. We looked around the room and house a bit, and noticed that many of the toiletries and even some of the items for guests in the kitchen were from the Dollar Store! Seriously? How little do they think of their guests? There is an air conditioner in the window that never shuts off unless you turn it off manually. It was too loud, we had to turn it off to sleep. There was a TV, but no cable. As for breakfast, what a joke. We had to make our own waffles and coffee! There was fruit and yogurt in the refrigerator and muffins in a warming dish. There was no ice available. There was some off name bottled water that tasted funny and generic brand sodas. I've stayed in B&Bs all over the country. I've always received top notch and personal service! This was my husband's first experience. Needless to say, neither of us were impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AK

Unique, historic charm

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Deluxe Suit: lovely bed and breakfast - self service kitchen- great whirlpool tub( one of the best I've seen ) - bed a bit uncomfortable - great decor - quiet neighborhood-overall a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast in a quiet environment

Posted Apr 29, 2015
When I got to the bed and breakfast, everything was already set up for my stay. Was left alone, which was one of the main factors of going to a bed and breakfast. There are stores less than a mile away, which was nice and within walking distance. Breakfast was prepared in the morning, with waffles, muffins, and a delicious fruit plate. Overall, a very good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Different-All self service

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
First.. this is a good BnB. It was different than others i have used, but that is not necessarily bad. Some BnB the owner is right there to greet you, show you around the common areas, etc. At solon, your name is on the door. There is really no common (mansion parler) room. Structually, the building is less old mansion, and more converted 100yr old room house. There are many doors and areas which are left rust (old n beeten), but this is clearly intentional, as other areas (jet tub for example) are top notch. In the morning, breakfast was self service too. Delicious warm muffins, cut fresh fruit, and waffle maker. Compared to other BnB the lack of owner viability was odd. Then again, some owners can be a bit over bearing, so in comparison I would choose this. Solon approaches the BnB experience a little differently, and that difference may be perfect for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing room loved the whirlpool tub great bed

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Went to the room which was right down from the crust where we dined and close to our sons college Loras. It was dark when we entered but found our note right away and it welcomed us. The master suite was cozy and perfect for our night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dlk from Solon Langworthy House

comfortable and interesting place to stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
host and hostess were very gracious and unobtrusive--really interesting house and neighborhood--plenty of coffee, fresh fruit, waffle fixings, definitely an older house with older house issues like bumpy floors, but all in all, we liked it! and it was much more like being home than staying in yet another motel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ami from Houston, TX

Tree-lined Street, Homey Ambiance

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
I cannot say enough good things about this B&B! Great location, huge room, comfy bed and the jetted tub was perfect for sinking into. The street and the homes and trees around it made the atmosphere very welcoming!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Historic building in process of being renovated.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Comfy bed, hot tub was GREAT! Nice neighborhood.
Cons: Bathroom way too small. Greeting customers is more welcoming, so I'd recommend doing this instead of merely leaving note. And...having a locking door
Location: Close to downtown Dubuque. Walking historic neighborhood was nice.
Front door and door to our bedroom did not lock. Neighborhood appeared really nice (Historic District), but not having a working lock on front door to building and especially to our room was concerning. Bathroom in our room was TEENY, with little to no leg room. In other B&Bs we've stayed in, we were always greeted warmly by staff and walked through and given direction. Not so here. Bed was extremely comfy and hot tub was delightful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good - serve yourself. Overall, rather pricey for what we got.