Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, VA

Beach Mini Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The place is in a great location in Duck. The rooms are timeshares and they are in need of a face lift. It doesn't effect your stay. Stains on the carpet, new light fixture with old holes and old wall paper showing. There were cockroaches in the upstairs rooms in the heating/Ac vents. When I told the front desk they were aware and stated they were going to have someone come in after we leave. Not sure why they gave us that room if they knew? We were there during the off season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Angela, Hotel Management
Thank you for your concerns, Barrier Island is due for interior renovations. We do hope to begin in 2018. I will look into the remaining concerns to see what has been done to prevent any further issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The only thing going for this place is the location. The rooms are outdated and the carpets had stains. The deck had a light that shined directly into the bedroom all night long making it difficult to sleep. When I asked the front desk if anything could be done about the light they said remodeling was going to be done in 2018. It seems like an easy fix, but unfortunately the hotel staff was very rude about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location to the ocean and pool were good.
Cons: As stated above it really, really needs to be up-dated.
The hotel staff are very friendly BUT the condo carpet was dirty and stained. The furniture was very old and looked it. It really needs to be painted and up-dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
It's a nice place. Could Use some updating in the interior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampstead Maryland

Nice getaway

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Staff was very welcoming and pleasant. Walked in the room and it smelled very musty..i think thr landscaping needed an overhaul as well as the decor and kitchen upgrade. The windows need darkening blinds or curtains, too bright first thing in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Point Va

Enjoyed our stay we will return

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms well stocked kitchen close to every thing needed but didn't have to leave the Property except to buy groceries for the week. Fun week !
Cons: The game room needed updating for the children, inside pool room was not being used due to maintenance issues not addressed for sometime.
Location: Well shopping, restaurants , movies, bounce house, put-put, Bowling, boating, surfing, jet skiing, horse back riding, !Duck Doughnuts!! must do
It was an easy check in the townhouse was ready and smelled clean and looked clean but it was a little outdated which did not stop us from enjoying the rooms. The private beach was wonderful we were able to enjoy it day and night (romantic for the adults, fun for the children night time crab finding) the outside pool was clean and well maintained plenty of room for all. The outside activities were great for all around family fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Nice stay by the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient to beach, pleasant room
Location: right in the middle of the Outer Banks. Traffic was horrific. If you want to do a lot of sight-seeing, then you best expect long lines.
This is NOT a hotel rental - it is a time-share rental. You risk having to swtich rooms mid-stay if your stay is not during their usual rental block of Saturday to Friday. I booked a rental for Friday to Monday and had to switch between units on Saturday afternoon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

If I'd known I wouldn't have rented

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This place rents rooms from Saturday to Saturday. If you need Friday-Monday like I did, they will make you switch rooms. This means that you spend one day in one room and two days in another. You can't unpack and get comfortable the first night before you move. The humidity is high so everything feels wet, including the couches that don't feel clean at all. The second room we went to had mold on the wall and both rooms had leaks around doors. The staff told me that they would call me on the room phone early Saturday morning to tell me which room to switch to and that I'd need to pack up and be ready to move early. Waited in the room until 11:45 (which is half the day in beach time) to get the call which came on my cell phone so I could have left the room and gotten breakfast and had some beach time. The cleaning staff also barged into the room at 8:30 even though check out was at 10am. Spiders and bugs inside and especially around the doors outside. It didn't appear that the comforters were cleaned or changed between guests. It was nice that at the back of the property there was beach access and a pool. The people working there seemed nice enough but I wouldn't stay again and I wouldn't recommend until they put some money into each unit and replaced the overused furniture. Also the mattresses are terrible. oh and no wifi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Spot

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Barrier Island Station was nice. Our unit was in Ocean Pines and was clean and in good repair. It was located a bit further from the center of Duck than we hoped but the beach access was excellent just a couple minutes walk. The beach was clean and with plenty of room for everyone to play.
3 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were told several things that weren't true about the resort/suite. We were told there were t.v.'s in each room - there was only one in the living room. We were told there was a jetted tub - not there! We were told about a fabulous fitness center with free weights and that was not the case either. The dishwasher didn't work well, there was no grill on our deck, and a few of the lights didn't work. I was told to bring bath towels, etc. so I packed them for the whole family and when we arrived, towels were already there. I could have saved space in the suitcase and left mine at home. We did love the pool and the walking beach access. We were treated well by lifeguards with the umbrella and chair rentals.