Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by peter from London

A Great Value Midlands Oasis

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
A place of quiet and rest. It may be busy and noisy if there is a wedding, we can't say. Good walking in nearby Himley Country Park. Very good value. Good breakfast. Also enjoyed a good value tasty evening meal there as some of the other restaurants we looked at nearby were very crowded, and airless stuffy or smelly. We would prefer a pocket-spring bed for greater comfort but the bed was ok. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated but what is wrong with that? We would far rather stay here than at some snobby place where it is hard to relax. Ten out of ten. The staff are friendly and soon refunded the accidental overpayment as the room was prepaid but did not appear so initially on the system! Definitely stay here again when in the area. Would not hesitate to highly recommend. But if you are a snob or awkward customer you would no doubt find petty things to complain about and you will miss the blessing of this wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Gillingham Kent

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
We would stay again the staff were very friendly and the restaurant and bar were good the hotel was a bit tired and not as clean as could be.
2 out of 5
by Kione from Suffolk

Poor show all round

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Maybe Hotels.com didn't pass on my 'special requests' but it's a very poor start to turn up & be told "we didn't know you were bringing a dog" by the check in staff when your booking form clearly stated "ground floor room if possible - will be bringing a dog"! The room was a nice size and was reasonably clean, however that's about the best of it. The interior wall dividing the bathroom was covered in mould & room was freezing (window left open & heater not working). Yes I probably could have asked to switch rooms but late at night after a long drive & with dog in tow I didn't want the hassle. Walls are so thin I could hear a tap dripping next door & the bathroom extractor fan from across the hall - the fan in my room sounded like a jet engine. Free wifi is a joke - signal is so poor it took me ten attempts to log in, then managed to stay connected for a whole 3 mins before dropping & asked me to log in all over again. Interesting approach to housekeeping: bins emptied, fresh towels but didn't make the bed or top up tea & coffee I'd used...maybe you're only allowed two of each per stay not per day?! I know it was only a cheap hotel (£30 per night) and I certainly don't expect a lot for that sort of money, but sadly Himley Country Hotel fell far short of my low expectations and I will certainly not be recommending it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable. The pillows were flat but luckily they supply 6. The shower dripped loudly into the bath. Ok for the price though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be staying again until its re-furbished!

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty carpet that hadn't been hoovered, cracked dirty bath with hair in it!Shower dripped constantly and was warm, the bath drainage terrible, toilet seat was broken. Gereneral shabbiness and room was cold and felt damp.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's basic but it was a bargain price!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: I could afford it during a skint month.
Cons: It needs a full renov but then it'd be more expensive
Location: was just there one night!
Spacious room nice staff - it's just that the place is a bit 'tired' that's all. it was pretty busy though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good to access local dayouts etc

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Hotel was nice, just needs a lick of paint, and abit more modern and updated perhaps another member on reception as was a queue with the phone ringing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower was switched off

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Went to have a shower and turned it on and there was no water. Told reception and within the hour the maintance man came and switched on the water with a tool.It had been switched off. By this time I was having breakfast and on my way out. I missed my shower. Had a shower the next morning and turned off the shower all the way but it was still running a bit. Told reception that it needed switching off.
2 out of 5
by Imogen from Vale of Glamorgan

Don't expect too much...

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Plus points - free wifi, very friendly and helpful reception staff who went out of their way to make my stay more pleasant. Minus points - the first room I was shown had a shower that was dripping so loudly I couldn't have slept there. The bathrooms in general are extremely shabby and in need of updating. They were happy to move me, but it became clear that they had been badly let down by housekeeping, who had only made up half the rooms that day before going home. So it took some time to find another room, which was passable but in poor decorative order (peeling paint and wallpaper, dirty grouting, cracked sink bowl, cobwebs etc). The hotel was probably quite smart 30yrs ago, but is in urgent need of a refit. If you go there prepared to be disappointed you probably won't think it's too bad, and for £27.50 it's maybe churlish to complain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No room at the Inn

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Cleanliness, more efficient booking in procedure.
I have stayed at this hotel many times, but on this occasion our booking had been incorrectly processed, and our "Ground floor room with bath" became little more than a "broom cupboard with shower" on the first floor - The adjacent linen store was bigger, and looked cleaner and more comfortable than our room. Okay, mistakes happen, but an apology would have been nice !!! My wife has walking difficulties and those stairs up to the first floor are quite steep. Thankfully we were not disappointed with the full English breakfast the next morning.