Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from herts

Very noisy

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Booked as close to black Country museum. Quite dated. Was there in the heatwave. No air conditioning and no fans so was roasting. Hotel on busy road so very noisy. Staff were OK but didn't seem to know much about the area. Wouldn't go again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Not, "Quality" hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Close to shops etc.
£75 for one night! two adults and one child in one room too expensive for a dirty room and uncomfortable bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Quality by name only

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Having prepaid reception tried to charge me for the room again, the room itself was "compact" and dated. We tried to eat in the restaurant but having been told at reception to go through we waited for several minutes in an empty restaurant before anyone appeared, when they did they turned their back to us and muttered that someone would deal with us when they had time. We left the restaurant and instead drove up the road to Bella Italia (about a 5 min drive) we had to rely on google maps for this as reception would not give us details of other local restaurants but instead tried to get us to stay and eat in the restaurant. Suffice to say we shall not be booking in at this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croydon

Conveniently placed hotel for M5

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: It was secure, clean, easy to find, quiet, great breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing significant. Otherwise, see above.
Location: It is well situated for motorways. Didn't do anything else, so can't comment.
We arrived in late evening and staff were there to register us. Our room was at the back of the hotel so away from traffic. The room was solidly built and spacious with two comfortable beds and convenient lights. There is a bath/shower combination which we didn't use, so can't assess. The basin could do with some new sealant round the edges. By 11pm there was no more hot water for washing, which was a bit surprising, but maybe due to heavy usage. The windows are double glazed but a bit stiff. We appreciated that there were 2 armchairs for sitting or draping our clothes: this is not always the case. TV worked OK: there are some weird channels we've not seen before! As for cooked breakfast we chose, no complaints, there was plenty and it was first class. The road outside is dual carriageway and on the hotel side is going away from main road south, but there is a roundabout nearby to get back on the right carriageway. That's about all I can say.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LH

It's ok

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Hotel is ok for money,nothing special They want me to write more but what to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel clean but in need of a refurbishment

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Cons: complete refurbishment needed
quality by name only in heed of a complete refurbishment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

4 am checkin

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: As noted above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Our friends who we met in the bar said B has not much to offer. Stratford for sure and we went.
Five years ago Bev and I spent 3 nights at your hotel. We arrived at midnight after a 7 hour flight to Heathrow. We were tin the UK (we are Canadians) to celebrate our 50th and to attend an award won by our permit horse trainer friend Evelyn Slack from Cumbria which was presented at Cheltenham. I think I praised our stay in a survey like this. This year for a wedding invite we returned and prebooked again. Our flight was delayed plus other problems including a faulty GPS meant that we didn`t arrive until 4 AM. The poor night porter was there to check us in. We left at 11 to head north. Check out my ex from 5 years ago. Two lads on a walking pub tour dropped in the bar and wouldn`t let us buy a round,were funny and smart and had been at the Ryder Cup, a venue we visited a few days later. You place with its salons and restaurante bar plus the salons and the glassed in breakfast area should be highlighted in you info. Terry and Bev McKinney
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Location: Good location close to Black Country Museum and Dudley Castle, also decent pubs and food outlets within easy walking distance.
Good value for the room rate paid. Staff were courteous and friendly. The only disappointment was that the room was not made up during the 2 night stay. However the extra milk and sugar I needed was available at reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

very close to Black Country Living Museum

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: local to the place we were visiting. Plenty of parking
Cons: Basic TLC in room eg shower works but trim missing.
Location: Black country living museum and Dudley castle/ zoo,
basic clean room with adequate facilities at a very reasonable price. Price reflect the standard of decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely basic hotel. Great breakfast.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Adjustable heating.
Location: Opposite Dudley Zoo and very close to the Black Country museum.
Good hotel for convenience for what we required. Very friendly staff. Room was on the cold side, no chain on the door nor slip mat in the bath. Water took ages to run hot for a shower in the morning but it did eventually. All forgiven when the cooked breakfast appeared.