Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel for visiting or shopping in birmingham.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Food was good and rooms were clean.
Cons: Prices.
Location: Easy to catch a train into birmingham.
Nice relaxing hotel,with pool and spa facilities also easy access to catch a train into birmingham which saves a lot of hassle of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Room was beautiful

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Didn't use the facilities or eat at the hotel but was impressed by the standard of the room allocated the bathroom standard and cleanliness
Cons: Access to the new block numerically confusing. We were on the ground floor but had to go up a floor then down another to enter
Location: Black Country living museum just fabulous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking tired

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Parking
Cons: Refurb
Not up to the same standards as other village hotels and somewhat tired
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok nothing special

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness in rooms
Location: good location lots of things around
Felt a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the room in the hotel, Hair left in the plug hole, sink tap was not clean, the carpet looked dirty, bed coves had a few spots of what looked to be blood on it other than that it was nice placethe bed was comfortable, food was good staff where very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

A place to renew old acquaintences

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: I cannot add to what I have writtten above.
Cons: The checking in arrangement. The new way, signing in card details etc, on the front desk in full view of others was neither secure nor private.
Location: Since we stay here to attend a sign language convention we never have time to visit the sights.. We do enjoy having such a choice of pleaces to eat.
My wife and I have stayed at the Village several times over recent years. We have alsways found the staffe more than ready to help with any difficulties or to cater to our likes and dislikes. The food has always been of a very high standard and pleanty of it. Though being a large hotel it is set in pleasant surroundings and never feels impersonal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

looks nice from the front some disappointing rooms

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Starbucks, food, club room. The business meeting space was really good and a great price.
Cons: The bathrooms have not been updated in the standard rooms, this is really disappointing, same with the bathrooms in the public space, very 90's.
Hotel is nice and modern, Starbucks inside is great. Pool looks nice but didn't use it, they're refurbish the gym at the moment. Depending which room you pick they either nice or a bit shabby, on my second visit with work in a week I had a club room which was much nicer than a standard room. The self serve checkin is a good idea but not obvious that's what you should do initially, it was a bit faceless as a result. On my second visit I couldn't get anyone to answer the phone to take a room service order even when I called from outside line and had to go to reception to order. The food was really good both times I ate in room service though and they even do a healthy menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Black Country visit

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Check in was quick. The room was okay apart from a damp carpet! Bathroom was very clean and lighting was good. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ,

Nice stay.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Better to channels, a bit of a spruce up would be good and wider single beds.
Location: Near the Black Country museum, Dudley zoo. There is a cheap Toby carvers down the road and a huge tesco next door.
The hotel is conveniently located for the Black Country museum. We got a cheap deal and used the swimming pool sauna and steam room daily. The room was a bit tired and shabby but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Needs a good cleaning.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Pool and gym. Good location
Cons: Clean the rooms
Location: Located next to a shopping center with theatre, bowling and restaurants. Very good location.
We were in the "new" section but the rooms were dark and very dusty and dirty. No conveniences. Pool was nice but the spa is really just a day spa. Had to use public gym locker facilities for treatments. Price was good though. The pictures on line do not reflect the rooms. We had to get our room re-keyed every day at check out time even though we had a 5 day reservation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Just okay

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Room very dusty, noisy until 1230am with loud music and very hot!