Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very nice hotel but out of nowhere

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Hotel is very nice, rooms are large, views are nice depending on the side of the building you're on. Very nice sauna and spa area with many gym machines. The restaurant has nice options and a very nice buffet. It's closer to the airport than downtown Dusseldorf (10 min and 15 euro by taxi), but there is nothing around the hotel. It's all industrial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Wonderful nice place and quite staff so friendly warm welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very expensive hotel room dining

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I order 2 water bottles cost me 20 euro 7 euro for each bottle And 7 euro to just bring it to your room 100% more on water bottle to bring in your room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Efficient, clean and quiet hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The quiet,comfortable and friendly atmosphere near to the airport and exhibition centre.
Cons: Soap for the basin in the toilet. Shaving and hair care kits. Otherwise very good.
Location: Location near the airport and Messe exhibition centre is good.
Food is good and I was given a room upgrade to a full suite. Very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great business hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Large rooms for German standards. Nice rain showers. Internet terribly slow and cumbersome (you have to log in every time you want to look at something on your phone or re-start the computer). Elevators slow at high demand times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good Hotel that isn't meeting its past standards

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Location: the atmosphere in the lobby area, the size of the rooms and the food are superior. The restaurant is great for either breakfast or dinner; the bar is
Having stayed at the Van der Valk for the past six years, it is beginning to be less customer oriented and more expensive. The front desk personnel seemed to be inexperienced and not as knowledgeable as they were in the past. For the price of this week (MEDICA week) there should be better transportation available - there are no airport shuttles and the taxi situation is horrendous. You order a taxi and by the time you get to the lobby, someone has taken it. The front desk simply tells you that the situation is bad, but that's the way it is. Housekeeping was somewhat sloppy and when I stayed in my room one morning until 11:00 AM, upon returning that night there was a bag of towels left on the door handle and the room was not made. Small things, but when you charge as much as they do for special events, the service should be special. However, the atmosphere in the lobby area, the size of the rooms and the food are superior. The restaurant is great for either breakfast or dinner; the bar is a great place to meet and the Brassiere serves a great lunch.Will I stay there next year for MEDICA? Don't know - this is the first year I said that I need to look around to see what else is available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very close to airport but not too close.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: We couldn't fault anything.
Location: The hotel is in a very convenient location for the airport.
We had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was very well arranged with a massive wardrobe. The bathroom had a fantastic size as well. We had a drink in the bar which we very much enjoyed as well. Breakfast was lovely - I can highly recommend the homemade Vanilla Quark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from illinois

Nice hotel, very quiet.

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: large rooms with lots of space and amenities
Cons: It would help if the internet connections were a bit stronger. It is also a taxi ride from the airport and a shuttle might be helpful.
Location: There are only offices and industry around the hotel a taxi is need to visit elsewhere.
Modern hotel convenient to Duesseldorf airport. The area is industrial and offices so little to do outside without a car or taking a taxi. Hotel restaurant and bar make up for it though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, California

Nice hotel with a good restaurant attached

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Nice hotel with a good restaurant attached. Not a lot of things to do nearby. But a beautiful area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with superb staff

Posted Jun 21, 2015
The staff really helped us with difficult schedule.