Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cheap, clean

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Ground floor room with large front window. There were "blackout " curtains so you had a choice between sitting in a dark cave and being on display to anyone who walked by. Non-smoking room, but smoking allowed in the courtyard so I always seemed to smell smoke. Worst free breakfast ever: granola bars and stale cellophane-wrapped muffins and coffee. Full kitchen a plus. No daily maid service, which was fine by me. Slow Wifi with weak signal. Overall decent relatively cheap basic accommodations. Easy walk to Chipotle, Chick-Fil-a, Potbelly, and several fancier restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greg, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are happy you liked our location and our affordable rates. However, we are sorry you were not pleased with some of our in-room amenities and the inconvenience it caused.I will also make a note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast. We hope you will visit us another time so we can provide you with a much more satisfying experience. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city

Worst hotel in same category in Reston/Herdon.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Hotel in desperate need for an upgrade. Everything seems to be falling apart. Their so called breakfast is a tremendous disappointment...a few bars, instant oat meal and muffin in little plastic bags... that's it. It supposed to start at 6am but I was there at 6:55am and door was still closed. Worst of the hotels in the same category in Reston/Herdon area. You can get much better somewhere else the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. Please consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Location was good and as per location hotel's cond

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotels condition was not up to the mark. Hotel room carpet was sticky ,mattress had blood stain and lobby had ciggrett buds an cobwebs. I stayed in extended stay when I went to new York ad that wasn't bad at all by after this experience I will think twice before I book room in future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Rajani, it is disappointing to know we failed to deliver you a stay that could meet your expectations. Our first preference is to ensure a spotless accommodation for every guest, but we are extremely sorry we fell short in doing so while you were here. Your concerns have been shared with our Housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service moving forward. Please consider giving us one more chance so we can redeem ourselves. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
disappointing staff and service. and there were ants in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: pool
very clean , friendly staffs, close to reston metro station so I can park and ride metro to sightseeing in DC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston. We are delighted to know our location close to various attractions of the city was ideal for your needs and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

had roaches and large spiders.. would not go back

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: conditions, cleanliness, management
management was non responsive to my complaints... tried to check out a day early and they charged me 110 dollars even with advanced notice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know how we can improve, and we assure you we will do just that. We are committed to delivering the most excellent service and accommodations for all of our guests. Your feedback is not typical of the remarks we normally receive, so we apologize you did not experience our team members at their best. Our Front Desk associates will be happy to assist you with any of the queries you have. We invite you to come back and validate the changes we will be implementing and to experience the stay you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Karis

For price, excellent deal.

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
For the age it is a great, clean place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Karis, we appreciate your kind review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston. We are glad to read you recognized our well-kept property and the great value we offer. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Washington. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good hotel for the money. Great staff.

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has an excellent location, about six miles from Dulles Airport. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (I've seen contradicting reports here on this website, but we all have our experiences and opinions), and it's a reasonably priced venue for its location. It also has a self-serve laundry room on the ground floor (again, reasonably priced: $2/wash, $2/dry). The negative points that I encountered were that 1) the hotel has some of the smallest bath towels I've ever encountered, so if you're looking for plush, this ain't it; 2) the blankets on the bed are nearly threadbare, to the point where they look like something you'd find in a daycare center; 3) the hotel advertises "full kitchens", which they aren't as you have to call reception for a complete set of tableware, cutlery, etc., but that's minor drawback. I just didn't like the fact that, when I requested the same last time I was there, previous guests hadn't bothered to clean the kit's items properly, leaving me do the job for them. I still recommend this hotel as a bargain. The staff and the price per room make up for any shortcomings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. – Reston. We are glad to read you not only liked our location and the service provided by our associates but also found us to be a good value in the area. Please know that our brand standards require us to keep kitchenware at the front desk. We also appreciate your observations and hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Roz

One night stay!

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
I ask for a non smoking room. It reeked of smoke when you went in. When you pulled out the chairs from the breakfast bar there was food on the chair. Bed was very comfortable although stains on the valance
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for your overnight stay. You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property as your home away from home when traveling, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. My staff and I are taking steps to ensure every detail from the first impression at check-in to the final at check-out and will focus on providing a better experience for every guest entering our doors. We regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was looking for a little fun; got unwanted funk

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great spot, but I had a few disappointments. There was a heavy "funk" in the room -- a heavy odor of cigarette smoke, which hung in there for days. It was also a bit gloomy, due to a couple of inoperable lights. I'd rather to have amenities like coffee, cups, and plates in the room already -- instead of asking for them at the busy front desk and carting them to the room myself. Breakfast was not worth the time, as either coffee or hot water were missing the two times I went. There's a nice bike trail nearby, and every kind of restaurant within a mile or two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. I apologize for the smell of smoke you experienced on your stay. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I am sorry if the smell compromised your experience. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are doing everything possible to minimize the impact to our guests. Thanks for your candid feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, General Manager