Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl from Pretoria

Highly recommend if visiting Dullstroom

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed as a weekend break, playing golf. The suite was lovely and cosy with plenty of wood for the fire at night when it got cold. The staff were welcoming and friendly.Our breakfast was excellent Our only criticism was dinner - expensive for what we got, portions small and very disappointing.A nice touch in the morning was our car was cleaned Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lachen SZ, Switzerland

Lovely place with European charm

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: English charm, excellent food
Cons: Rather small bathroom area to place your stuff (around the sink), no shelf space there
Location: Dullstroom's nearby (just 1 km out of town) Birds of Prey Rehabilitation Centre (South Africa) is a must see.
Our family stayed in one of the cottages (room 12) and really enjoyed the place. Excellent food, nice facility, two bathrooms and four bedrooms (sleeping up to 8 people). Feels like a home away from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Duncan from Johannesburg

hotel ok restaurant and service great

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in a standard room and was a little disappointed. For a high rating like the hotel has the sheets were stained and all round not great. Restaurant was AWESOME.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Simon from Everywhere!!!

Don't miss 'wild about whiskey!'

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in a very quaint little drinking village with a massive fishing problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
wht a wonderful stay. Will definitely go face. Staff are very attentive and the good is absolutely divine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tracey from Pretoria

Incredible experience

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
We had the most enjoyable stay. We arrived during load shedding and was upgraded to a suite with a fireplace to keep the cold away. Even though they had no power they were able to offer dinner as their kitchens are equipped with gas. The service from John was friendly and professional. I will definetly refer all my family , friends and clients. Thank you for making my Anniversary very special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patricia from Pretoria

Good option for couples, not kids friendly

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely, but should not advertise that they are suited for families with young children. The hotel offers no facilities for children or any entertainment for children. The hotel menue also does not offer any meals for kids.. which was a bit disappointing.. The hotel is a lovely option for a romantic get away for a couple, but not with kids. The spa experience was also a disappointment, as the spa facilities/ equipment are very dated and old/ worn.. (the towels used were warn and dated, the bed cover was torn, the therapist was very friendly but not professionally trained)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Taryn from Johannesburg

Anniversary weekend

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at the Highlander. The staff did anything and everything they could for us, the food was fantastic and the whole environment was so calming and relaxing. A nice warm cozy weekend in winter! Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by R Lindley

AN IDEAL STOPOVER

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels
We were upgraded as we were not prepared to stay in accommodation with no safe. The suite was very comfortable, although we had to ask for a sheet to be changed. The cuisine was of a high standard and the staff were eager to please. I spoke to the Manager about some of our concerns and he was very responsive. We'll visit again.