Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5* experience with extremely helpful staff

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The perfect short stay on our way to our Safari.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good. Needs airconditioning or fans
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing time spent, and the fishing was brilliant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. The Estate team works hard and keeping the dams stocked and fishing conditions at the highest level. We are happy that their hard work paid off. Kind regards, Kate
4 out of 5
by David from johannesburg

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
it was relaxing and enjoyable. the only problem is that the stay was not long enough. without unduly being critical, parts of the room are getting worn. thought should be given to heating the bathrooms.
3 out of 5
by Jennitha from Johannesburg

Disappointing revisit to Walkerson's

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Having been there previously and having thoroughly enjoyed it, we had an expectation that it would live up to the previous experience, but unfortunately the overall experience was disappointing. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were neat and clean while the main hotel was been renovated which didn't have much impact on the guests. But the food was terribly below par. We had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts during our stay and I can truly say that these were some of the poorest quality of food we've been served. I overhead the chef apologize to a couple at a nearby table that they were experiencing problems in the kitchen due to the renovations, but I don't believe that the renovations could be blamed for poor tasteless food. For a 5 star establishment, I definitely expected much more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that the renovations are completed and the hotel is back to operating as normal. Our sincere apologies about the poor food experience, as you say, the renovations should not have impacted on this at all. We have been working on menu development and chef training and I believe that the food quality has improved. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Kate
5 out of 5
by Nigel from Sussex UK

A little bit of heaven

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel with no reason to complain about anything
5 out of 5
by Nicole from Johannesburg

Absolutely outstanding!!

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful place to stay! It was absolutely breathtaking and the cottage was so big and clean and so well looked after. We so enjoyed the quiet and really got to relax.
5 out of 5
by refiloe from Jhb

Mini paradise

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place, ambience,good food and excellent service.
5 out of 5
by Erica

AMAZING STAY

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Will definitely be going back !!!
4 out of 5
by Susan from Cape Town

A Dullstroom favourite

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
A very pleasant stay for just 2 nights en route to Kruger. Fishing was good and the estate looked really attractive. Breakfast was "the meal of the day"