Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time at this nice resort! Right on the water

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great place to stay! Rooms were well kept and seemed updated. Patios were really cool, especially looking out over Lake Superior. Only thing is that the rooms were not exactly sound proof, and the breakfast was a little sub par. But great location (quiet) and in close driving range to Canal Park and downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay, gorgeous view

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic accommodations, easy check in and wonderful view of Duluth. The rooms were better than most hotels I've stayed at. Easy to get to off the highway and just enough away from Duluth to have a gorgeous experience on the water, but only 5 minutes or less from downtown and the canal district. We also were easily able to hop on the scenic highway and head up the coast. The room was phenomenal with a great bed, amazing hottub (perfect for two...) and a beautiful view from the deck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but not great.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
I thought it would be a quiet property, but it was more like staying at a frat house. Also, for the price, I expected a better continental breakfast. That being said, I liked being outside the canal and close to more of the hiking I wanted to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the lake.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Great location. Can't get a much better view of the lake.
Wonderful room . A few minor issues, closet door was off the wall and inside the closet, silverware was lacking, patio door needed lubrication and the railing on the exterior deck was loose and seemed unsafe. Otherwise great room for two couples at a reasonable price for Duluth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Anniversary

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The basic hotel, was great. A couple of areas, we didn't like 1) I wanted to upgrade our room to a suite since it was our Anniversary. There was only 1 left. front desk staff stated 1 hour to clean for us - No Problem we thought - - but the housekeeping wouldn't clean the only suite left. So I wasn't impressed with the customer service for that. 2) the continental breakfast was terrible. Overall, We would go back again and I would recommend it, but they would know the down sides as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dip your toe in the water

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Nice amenities. Hallway temp set at 65, which was too cool for outdoor temp of 40's. Sink didn't drain well. Staff were very pleasant & accomodating. Love the underground parking. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel on the lake

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Very nice! Comfortable bed, lovely towels, shower and bath. The view was beautiful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Wonderful location. Free bike rentals allow you to get to the canal area easily through a beautiful trail ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Over priced, but good view

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Great location, good view, microwave and small refrigerator in room, very quiet, firm bed, decorations OK
Cons: Breakfast needs to be improved. Desk clerks were doing double duty. Entrance to underground parking hard to insert card and get inside. PRICE reduced.
The hotel is located in a great place right on the shores of Lake Superior. Upon entering the very small lobby we were greeted by a friendly clerk who checked us in and gave us vague directions on how to get to our room and parking. The room itself was fine, but not great for the price. The pool area is OK, but nothing special. Breakfast is something else. Warm coffee, a waffle machine that worked poorly and a very small selection. When they say a "dry breakfast" they really mean DRY! Besides frozen pizza,(and we didn't have a oven to bake it in) food was not available. They seemed to be short on cleaning staff as they didn't come to clean until late afternoon so we just opted for clean towels. The gals apologized, but in reality we had 3 days of no cleaning. I needed a nap more than cleaning. Bikes , but no locks. Did I mention the price! For this amount of money I expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by BP, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we were unable to exceed your expectations. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with an excellent stay on your next visit to Duluth. Sincerely, Beacon Pointe Staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were disappointed

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location, view
Cons: Price, housekeeping, toiletries,
Location: Great location, near canal park
I stayed at this hotel over a past holiday weekend, lived in Duluth for 4 years I know the city and accomodations very well. I was disappointed in this hotel for the price, it seemed to lack the necessary needs like for example, they give facial soap but no hand soap to wash hands? Seemed odd. I was also surprised to see a 5% "resort" fee on my bill..this apparently included coffee, spa, in room calls, and housekeeping. I am upset by this charge because not only did we not use any of the above, we had to call down for housekeeping after we came back to a messy room with no clean towels at 5pm. After receiving no response, we left and came back around 7:30pm to some clean towels but no housekeeping. The walls are paper thin and you will hear every conversation and noise in the middle of the night. Plus side- the view of course, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by BP, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in your recent stay with us. We are sorry that housekeeping did not get to your room for stay over service on the days that you are here. We will use this review to help improve upon our resort and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with an excellent stay on your next visit to Duluth. Sincerely, Beacon Pointe Staff