Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, quiet, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
This was a nice basic hotel in a location that was good for us; convenient, but not downtown. The breakfast was good, although on a busy Sunday morning they couldn't keep up with dishes or food demand. Very friendly front desk staff. We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet, especially for a booked hotel. More than we would pay for this hotel normally, but comparable to other hotels in Duluth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, WI

Nice Hotel, but Inept and Ineffective Management

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: It looks nice and is convenient to get to.
Cons: More parking places. A complete overhaul of management or detailed training so they stop lying and are aware of what's going on in their hotel.
When we checked in, we were placed in the wrong type of room. The front desk insisted that this was Expedia's fault and that no other rooms were available. After 15 minute, she finally got her manager, who found me a different room. Later on, I was talking to the manager and she said Expedia screwed up a bunch of reservations where people said they booked 2 rooms but Expedia only reserved 1 room at the hotel. She said "Thank God we had plenty of extra rooms available". Obviously they preferred lying to me initially rather than trying to fix the problem. In the fitness room, when I stepped on the treadmill, it was extremely unstable. A fitness ball was wedged under the treadmill. I know the employees of the hotel didn't place this ball under the treadmill, but it is very concerning because putting simply wiping down the treadmill would have revealed the issue. Since there was no cleaning solution in the fitness center to use once your workout is complete, it makes me wonder how often this room is cleaned or tended to. Then, at 1:30 in the morning, a wedding party decided to visit our floor. The were loud and unruly. I waited about 15 minutes for them to quiet down, but they kept getting louder. My wife tried calling the front desk for over 10 minutes with no answer. When she finally spoke with the front desk, they sad they would handle it. The noise continued past 2:30. How do you not notice a throng of loud, drunk people entering your hotel?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel! Great staff

Posted May 19, 2017
Good experience. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate to every need. Anne was working when we checked in and she was super friendly and beyond helpful everyday we were there! She helped us with everything we needed and went out of our way to help us print tickets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Nice location for easy access to interstate for vacation/sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Willmar, mn

Quick trip

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We were only in Duluth for a quick overnight. Nice hotel, beds a little uncomfortable but very clean and super friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities problems

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We stayed there a year ago & hot tub was down. This time there was problems with pool & pool was cold!! Maybe need to hire a better maintenance crew. Going to look for another hotel next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We stayed for a dance competition in Duluth. It is such an easy hotel right off the interstate and the price was reasonable. My only complaint was they had a hard time keeping up with the breakfast rush.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth. By telling us what you liked about the stay and what we can improve on it helps to ensure a superior experience for our future guests. I hope you are able to stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our go-to Duluth hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff. Overall, a very nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate and share your thoughts about your stay at the Best Western PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth. I hope you visit us again soon. Sincerely, Deanna Gregorich
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richfield, MN

Nice hotel close to Spirit Mountain Ski

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location, full breakfast, value
Location: Within a mile of Spirit Mountain Ski
Convenient location within a mile of Spirit Mountain skiing. Room in good condition. Clean. Pool was warm and hot tub was good. Very full breakfast that helped us fill the tank before skiing. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, Thank you for taking the time to share what you liked about your stay. It will help us continue to provide a superior experience to our future guests. I hope you are able to stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
I was a great experience I will be staying here again next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts about the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can visit us again soon.