Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lake view, as advertised.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Location. Relative price. The guy stocking the breakfast did a nice job.
Cons: Add an elevator.
Location: Glensheen Mansion and Canal Park Park are very close.
A nice place to stay - comfortable - with east access to other areas of town. Only downside is no elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pets

Posted May 23, 2017
This was my first experience staying in a hotel that accepts pets. Not a fan. The nonstop barking of the dog in the room next to us forced me to request a room change, which the staff gladly accommodated. The hotel is old and run down. We only needed one night because we were in town for one day. It was cheap and served the purpose of a place to sleep but that's all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

the staff were an excellent group of people

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Every thing! The room was clean and up to date no worn out furniture and the mattress was as comfortable as my own at home!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central to everything in Duluth.
They were on top of all our needs! We did not lack for anything. And I liked how they left it up to us to ask for cleaning or clean towels, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value

Posted May 3, 2017
Great a cuss, amenities, and comfort for the price. There was trash under the bedskirt and the carpet was very dirty. Breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, view of the lake

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: easy in and out
Location: Close to canal park, views of the lake
Basic lodging with a really good breakfast with hot waffles
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Very helpful person at front desk clean room, morning breakfast room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Cons: upgrade to the 21st century
You get what you pay for. Great, rate, but in desperate need of upgrading. On the plus side, it was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Nice hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff. We very much enjoyed our stay and would likely book this hotel again. However, you get what you pay for, nothing fancy. Breakfast was typical fare with make your own waffles, toast, cereal, etc. Room was very clean and updated, although interior of hotel looked older (but still clean). Not sure if I would pay extra again for lakeside room; the hotel is ~2 blocks from the lake and up on the hill, but no balconies. So, while you definitely have a clear view of the lake, I don't feel we made much use of the view...perhaps if it had been warmer. But, we enjoyed our stay and have no regrets about booking this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Better than expected.