Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Parking lot is horrible.
Hotel was great parking lot needs attention. Parking lot needs attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wausau, WI

Not 'economy' enough!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. The cheap furniture - rickety & falling apart - and broken exterior doors, such that the hotel's security is non-existent, are clearly sub-par. Anyone can just walk in the rear door at any time. Also the layout is a bit confusing. Traffic noise can be loud. This hotel is not worth the amount they charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by William Abell, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Truly very sorry for your experience while at our hotel. We have since fixed the issue with the door, and we hope the next time you find yourself in Duluth you consider staying with us. Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

It was just ok

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly, location, price
Cons: Perhaps check the efficiency of the windows used. Duluth is cold and windy in the winter and that much cold air should not be able to leak through.
Location: Location is near mall, Target, and many other stores and eateries. Its maybe a 15 minute drive downtown to many other shops and places to eat.
I've stayed here a couple of times and had decent experiences. This time, my room appeared clean and well maintained. The check in was easy and front desk was friendly. As I was preparing for bed, I noticed a terrible draft coming from the window. I checked to make sure it wasn't open it was so much! As far as I could tell the cold air was coming through the glass. There was no thermostat in the room, just a switch for summer and winter. The bed was a comfortable, but you can definitely tell where most people sleep as there was a minor divot. I just moved to the center and was comfortable enough. In the morning, I took a shower and found a bar of soap still in there from the previous guest. Other than that, the bathroom appeared clean. I think this was one bad experience out of many good ones. Like I said, I've stayed here before and had no issues. I'll probably stay here again. The location and price are almost always right for my stays in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by William Abell, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I've relayed the information regarding the window to my maintenance team, and I am terribly sorry for the multiple issues during your stay. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you find yourself in Duluth, we would love the opportunity to make up for our many shortcomings while you were with us. Warm regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Was able to check in early with no problems

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff,.
Cons: Never have fried eggs again, they were rubbery and tasted awful. Scrambled eggs would have been better, the sausages were great.
Asked for a smoke free room on the main floor, which we got, problem is that there was someone smoking in the hallway and the smoke permeates everything. My husband is very sensitive to smoke so it was a bit stressful for him to have to smell smoke for the weekend. Tighter controls need to be in place if you are going to post non smoking room on doors but allow smoking in the hallways. It doesn't make a lot of sense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by William Abell, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I am truly sorry for the issues you had while staying with us. I can assure you that we do not allow smoking in the hallways, had we been alerted of such an occurrence we would have swiftly taken steps to remedy the problem. Regarding the quality of the breakfast, I will speak with my general manager about making a change to our offerings. I hope you consider staying with us in the future. Warm regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Got there to check in and they said they were over booked and needed to find another hotel. We told them no we booked this room over two months ago so they gave us a room after telling them no a few times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by William Abell, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I am truly sorry about the inconvenience you encountered upon arrival to the hotel. Occasionally there are hiccups with our system, and I am glad we were ultimately able to locate your reservation. I hope you consider staying with us the next time you find yourselves in Duluth. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Was great weekend great staff! Room was little smaller then expected, but made it worked. Room serivce was great new sheets and clean floor! When you have a 2yr old and a 7year old with popcorn! Staff was great! Breakfast was nice too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by William Abell, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I truly thank you for your kind response! I will let our staff know that they are appreciated, it's always a treat to receive feedback regarding a pleasant stay. Hope to see you again soon! Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice place, reasonable price.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Rooms were nice and warm. Clean. Breakfast was convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T Bay

Hotel near things and stuff

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Nature of our trip was to go to spirit mountain Snocross races. Hotel was 11 minutes from shuttle to the mountain. Also close to food and shopping. Hotel seems a little dated but all and all it was clean. The staff our first night were great and very accommodating to our party of 12. Second night staff wasn't very accommodating at all... breakfast was eatible!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Close to the airport and economical.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel staff was wonderful . AirportTaxi didn't answer during the snowstorm so the front desk man took me to the airport so as not to miss my flight . They have a full hot breakfast and are very accommodating .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overcharged-billing nightmare for a one night stay

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: They allowed pets and the staff were friendly.
Cons: Beds, smell, update hotel, fix parking lot, and a resolution to this billing fiasco.
My family stayed one night, and checked out the next day. I checked out before 8am at the front desk and was assured there would not be any issues since I had originally booked the room for two days. However, not only has Expedia charged my card but also Econo Lodge. Thus far, I have been charged over $300 for a one night stay, at a substandard hotel, that should have cost me far less. In attempts to straighten this out, when I contacted the Lodge they told me to callback when the manager was available. However, there was no answer when I tried to callback. Also, in the days following, a manager is never available to speak with whenever I call. Additionally, my attempts to straighten this out through Expedia have been just as frustrating. To comment on the hotel itself, it is in terrible disrepair. The hotel is outdated, smelled like smoke, beds were terrible, and the parking lot needs major fixing. A bonus is they allow pets for an additional $10 fee. However, even our pet was agitated with the hotel. Hence, the bad outweighed the good and we decided not to stay another night. The staff was friendly enough when I checked in and checked out. However, it has been almost a week and I have not gotten a resolution as it has been impossible to contact a manager at the hotel and Expedia indicates they’ve escalated the issue or will call me back after contacting the hotel. I have not had a callback and I will not be staying there again.