Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T Bay

Hotel near things and stuff

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Nature of our trip was to go to spirit mountain Snocross races. Hotel was 11 minutes from shuttle to the mountain. Also close to food and shopping. Hotel seems a little dated but all and all it was clean. The staff our first night were great and very accommodating to our party of 12. Second night staff wasn't very accommodating at all... breakfast was eatible!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overcharged-billing nightmare for a one night stay

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: They allowed pets and the staff were friendly.
Cons: Beds, smell, update hotel, fix parking lot, and a resolution to this billing fiasco.
My family stayed one night, and checked out the next day. I checked out before 8am at the front desk and was assured there would not be any issues since I had originally booked the room for two days. However, not only has Expedia charged my card but also Econo Lodge. Thus far, I have been charged over $300 for a one night stay, at a substandard hotel, that should have cost me far less. In attempts to straighten this out, when I contacted the Lodge they told me to callback when the manager was available. However, there was no answer when I tried to callback. Also, in the days following, a manager is never available to speak with whenever I call. Additionally, my attempts to straighten this out through Expedia have been just as frustrating. To comment on the hotel itself, it is in terrible disrepair. The hotel is outdated, smelled like smoke, beds were terrible, and the parking lot needs major fixing. A bonus is they allow pets for an additional $10 fee. However, even our pet was agitated with the hotel. Hence, the bad outweighed the good and we decided not to stay another night. The staff was friendly enough when I checked in and checked out. However, it has been almost a week and I have not gotten a resolution as it has been impossible to contact a manager at the hotel and Expedia indicates they’ve escalated the issue or will call me back after contacting the hotel. I have not had a callback and I will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Awesome room with an awesome view!!!!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Awesome room with fireplace. Two bedrooms with a nice bath. The view from the large window of the Ocean was beautiful. We left the window open all
Cons: It was awesome!!!!!
Location: Awesome room with fireplace. Two bedrooms with a nice bath. The view from the large window of the Ocean was beautiful. We left the window open all
Awesome room with fireplace. Two bedrooms with a nice bath. The view from the large window of the Ocean was beautiful. We left the window open all night and could hear the Ocean. We walked the Prom after a wonderful meal at Norma's which we were given a !0% discount for staying at Ebb Tide. The campfires on the beach smelled wonderful. We had a very..... nice time. Thank you for making it so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: st
Location: Close to everything
We spent three nights there over MEA and we had no complaints. We visit Duluth several times a year and plan to stay there during every visit.The staff is amazing, never been treated better in any other hotel and we have stayed in hundreds. Matt at the front desk is great along with everyone else. A great place to stay 😊
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 23, 2016
The room was not ready at 3pm, had to kill time in town, needed to nap and shower to do that so we were not happy. Showered at a friend's house and went about our visit. Got back to the hotel about 8 checked in and got to the room and it was far from clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay was ok

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Staff was nice. My curtains had stains on them and my room was really cold. I called for assistance but no one answered. Breakfast was good but not impressive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
When we got there we did not get the room we had reserved with expedia months ago. Had to figure out where my daughter had to sleep since we didn't get a room with two beds. Breakfast they don't have enough seating. Wouldn't recommend staying here
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

$150.00 for the motel 6? Wait... EconoLodge.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Exterior presentation is as expected for this type of hotel. The interior needs some serious renovation. It seems it was once a nice place; I'm thinking circa 1998. The service level is that of mom 'n pop motels. There are definitely not any active Econo Lodge standards in place. During my check-in, I was acknowledged by a woman who seemed to be a supervisor of some sort. She did not smile nor welcome me. She held a conversation about the day with her coworker as opposed to talking to me. At one point, the new shift came in so she handed my check-in off to a much friendlier front desk person. She, of course, finished her conversation about the happenings of her day while the new person explained the hotels policies to me. The room was surface-clean. Of course there were Bobby pins, hair, dust, and other carpet dwellers throughout, but this was not a surprise. It felt more like a motel 6 than a step up, but maybe Econo Lodge is on the same level. This one surely is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Staff very friendly. Room comfortable and quiet. No problems checking in or out. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canfield oh

clean and neat hotel. very accomodating staff

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: parking lot is beat up on the end.
only stayed one night. the hotel was filled. still very quiet. the room was spartan but well laid out. everything worked and functioned as expected.