Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, MN

Seems great, but a few issues

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We were delighted by the lodge and the cute look, but our room was super tiny and they did not provide housekeeping! That means, no one emptied the Itty bitty garbage, which was full one minute after we arrived. Just one tiny guest shampoo, etc., no new towels... not huge issues but weird! The room was reasonably nice otherwise but super tiny, up a flight of steps, and facing the parking lot. There are no kids foods on the breakfast menu but the staff compensates: one of the 3 pancakes ($10) was turned into an awesome kiddie pancake with skittles. The staff was terrific, so friendly and accomodating. Not sure if I would stay here again, but if I did it would be in large part due to the staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Larsmont_Cottages596, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review of our resort! We apologize that your particular lodging was not to your expectation, and hope that you are able to stay in one of our popular lakeside facing rooms in the future. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and are happy that you were able to experience that during your stay and hope you returned home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: We did enjoy sitting by the fire in the Lodge in the evening. We ate at the restaurant one time and enjoyed the food although it was a bit pricey.
Cons: I think the website should show the lack of a chair in the room. Somehow I think it could have been built to accommodate space for a table and chair.
Location: The location was great and it was close to Two Harbors and other good places to eat. Duluth was also close by which also offers things to do.
We stayed in a small guest room with one bed. I didn't expect a lot but was disappointed at how small the room was. There was not even a chair in the room or a table high enough to sit next to. I know it was an inexpensive room but I would have expected more. The heating system was also not controllable so that it stayed much warmer than we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Larsmont_Cottages596, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review on our resort. We are sorry to hear that your lodging was not quite as you expected. We are continually looking for ways to improve and will certainly use your input as a reference. Thank you for being our guest and hope to host you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lynda from Fargo

Relaxing

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
It was perfect! View was amazing. Only bummer was the massage lady was totally booked and I think it's a little expensive. Would like to see deals for weekends.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I think we will be back:)

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was wonderful. What a wonderful spot on Lake Superior. The added touches like firewood and a fire on the beach after dinner were really nice. we also appreciated that there was firewood and kindling for making a fire to watch the sunrise. The dining was a bit of a disappointment The waiter was nice but not very attentive. The walleye was disappointing and we both have struggled to come up with a description for it other than mealy, no spice and soggy. It would also have been nice for the front desk clerk who checked us in to point out the coupons that were made available to us during our stay. We didn't see them until we were checking out so did use them. The facility is beautiful - architecture -pleasing. Bedroom was very comfortable although the shower had a fowl smell.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomas from Red Wing

"Ho-Hum" at the front desk...

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We were disappointed with the apparent disconnect between Hotels.com and the hotel. We told Hotels.com we needed a room for my disabled sister on the main floor. I ordered two rooms. What I received was "Ho-hum that's too bad..." attitude at the front desk "...that's what you get when you order rooms from Exdpedia..." My sister worked hard to climb the stairs and once in the room - there was a bed and dresser; not even a chair. We descended the stairs, cancelled our two rooms and went on to Duluth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from eden prairie

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 28, 2015
There is more variation in the rooms than the room price would indicate. We bought the least expensive room for just under four Ben Franklins for the two nights and received a room that was barely larger than the bed. There was no chair, no desk - just enough room to walk around the bed and get to the bathroom. That said, the 2-3 bedroom suites looked very nice. The restaurant was average. We enjoyed the outdoor fire pit most of all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Todd from Morris

Great time

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay. The weather was great for September. Had a fun time with "new" friends around the fire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by brenda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels