Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super 8 turned out to be Blooper 8.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Other than the smell in the room, the staff were pretty friendly and helpful.
Cons: Room needs paint from patching done to walls and bathroom fixtures need to be replaced. This was a 1/2 to a 1-star hotel.
I requested and received a confirmation for a NON-smoking room. A couple of days before my stay I called with a question and was told my room was a smoking room. After explaining I had allergies and wanted a room change, I was told the only way to make a change was to upgrade to a more expensive room ($25 more). Of course I argued that I had a confirmation for a non-smoking room but there was no negotiating with these folks. Expedia tried to intervene but hotel staff/management would not budge because there was a major event going on in town and they knew they could sell the room if I changed - which I would have gladly changed hotels but they were all full due to the event. Upon arrival, I showed management my confirmation notice, they still refused a change - or even a discount of any sort because that would displease the owners. The room we got had a terrible smell (due to smoking) but we were pretty much stuck since all hotels nearby were full. Staff were friendly. Not much variety in the breakfast but what they had was pretty good.
2 out of 5
by Carlota from G

ugly hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
they give us a smike room. Marathon runner in a smoking room. Breackfast was poor and improvised. getting there was a meds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colette from St. Cloud, MN

Comfortable, clean place to stay.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Stayed two nights in clean, comfortable room. Quiet. Friendly staff. Room could use a little TLC as far as hair dryer screws and screws on headboard being stripped. All in all, a very reasonable rate. Would have no problem staying there again. Also very convenient location as it is close to grocery store, restaurants and gas stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Pine City, MN

Cheap hotel.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Location: Dining close by & gas station also movie theater.
It smelled of smoke when we walked in the hotel. We just needed a cheap hotel to stay overnight, so ok for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dog mom from upper peninsula

Very clean, especially for dog friendly!

Posted Jan 26, 2014
It's tough to find a decent, reasonably priced dog friendly hotel. This place was fantastic! Visibly clean, AND my dog even seemed to think it was clean - no obsessively sniffing the carpet or licking the bedspread :) will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marc from kansas

Was there 2 nights for a football game in Duluth..

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Cons: We were a stay over and had no maid service at all after check-in...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Staff was very friendly and courteous.
Cons: Make it a no smoking allowed hotel.
Nice hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. However the whole hotel had a very strong smell from smoking. Even though there were no smoking signs all over, the smell was pervasive especially near the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Good value for price

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The location, it was right off the main highway, and close to shopping. Clean and nice to have fridge and microwave in the room.
Clerk behind the counter was very helpful and accommodating. Quiet overall except at night was able to make out a rather loud patron bouncing down the stairs. The TV stopped working, so slight inconvenience, could not watch in the am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Retired Disable from St Croix V.I.

Unexpected shining Star

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: The employees were all super nice people
Cons: Any decay of the structure
Location: Any and everything I needed or wanted was easily accessable.
Last minute birthday trip out of the Twin Cities. Made reservation for a room at the Super 8 in Cloquet MN. The night Mananger Bob was so professional and welcomingly cordial ,that I extended my stay another day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Easy access to highway, dining

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Keep doing a good job, clean common areas and rooms
Location: Location to dining was good but our stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the local ammenities
Overnight stay was comfortable with the staff being welcoming