Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Easy access to Duluth without the big price.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and price.
Cons: Need more space for the continental breakfast.
Location: Only eight miles from downtown Duluth and Canal Park.
I was a little worried about being close to train switching station and gas station but it was very quiet. Front desk knew a lot about the area and helped with directions and tips of how to get around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

No Fluff

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: bed was comfortable
Cons: over priced for what you are getting.
Location: nice family restaurant within walking distance, gas station next door.
bed was good, not much amenities, no elevator, showers are weak and are good for short people. I am 5'8" and had to bend to get hair wet and very little hot water. Was told only two water heaters and we were at the end so it took awhile to get down to our rooms. Disappointed in the price I had to pay for a queen size room. Outdate furniture/tv etc. Only Two floors
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super 8 Superior

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Older hotel, but room was clean, staff was pleasant. The cost was too high for the one night compared to other hotels I stayed in that week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st paul

adequate for one night

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: the room was smaller than we are used to, but was clean and neatly kept it was available.
Cons: correctly represent the bed sizes available in all the rooms
Location: we were in duluth for the weekend and this the only lodging we could find. NOT OUR FIRST CHOICE !
we booked a room with 1 queen sized bed. what we really got was 1 full sized bed that made sleeping uncomfortable enough that i wound up sleeping on the recliner. is that the reason there is a recliner in the room ????
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fall Creek, WI

Great value

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Sufficient parking. For being an "older" establishment it was very quiet.
Very clean hotel. We were there for Grandma's marathon. Staff opened the breakfast bar up early for the runners. Great FULL breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Henry J. from Ontario

My Wife Really Liked the Convenient Location

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Our preferred hotel was sold out. I chose this one as I had stayed there before. Gronk's is conveniently close bar with food, Holiday next door too. Good night's sleep - no noisy buzzards in other rooms. Just wish they had a sauna or hot tub. Will stay again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wayzata, MN

Very wonderful!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Easy location right next to street. Also, Next to Holiday gas station. Woodsy outdoors behind hotel so great wilderness smell when you go outside.
Cons: More choices for pastries for breakfast.
Location: You can stay here in Superior and still visit Duluth and its attractions. You avoid the high prices at the Canal Park hotels in Duluth.
Very clean hotel and rooms, very comfortable beds and rooms. I was very impressed and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Excellent Super Eight. Make your own waffles, yogurt, cereals, bananas was included in the free continental breakfast and all was very tasty. Short hallways so you are not walking a long distance to your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Superior, WI Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The towels and sheets felt like they were brand new.........the towels were very fluffy and the sheets very comfortable to sleep on.
Cons: New carpeting and new bedspread and blanket. The TV really should be mounted on the wall because it's impossible to watch TV while lying in bed.
I booked the room through Expedia. The rep I talked to had an accent which made her hard to understand. The info I had looked at said the room was "accessible". I asked her what that meant and she had to ask someone and was gone for several minutes. When she came back she said it had a roll-in shower. I didn't really need that but decided to take the room because I have difficulty stepping into a bathtub........I thought it'd be easier for me. When we checked in we found the room had a bathtub with a shower, several handicapped bars on the walls. None of them were in a position that I could hold onto one and it would help me step over the edge of the tub. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Carol from Wisconsin

really old but fairly clean

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
they weren't very friendly and the building was old located in a back parking lot beside a gas station behind a bar/grill. some rooms were freshly painted and it was fairly clean for the most part. some evening noise but not too late.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean n comfy

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Clean n comfy...no frills, but thats exactly what we needed this time around