Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pathetic..,no TV at all for hours now because Sat

Posted Jan 16, 2018
No TV at all now for several hours because of Satellite and closest repair people are 2 hours away. I have set here in this quiet hotel for way too long and they said the manager would call me but not once have I heard from the manager. I think I should have gotten my money back and been able to go get a motel with TV but the manager doesn’t even call back. This is absolutely pathetic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Temporary Housing Displaced Govt Housing Tenants

Posted Jan 15, 2018
The entire first floor of this hotel and most of the second floor is currently being occupied by temporarily displaced government housing tenants. Also, the one and only elevator is out of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize for not meeting your expectations with regard to our property and regret that our elevator was out of order while you were here. We have shared your feedback with our engineering team to check and fix it immediately. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TV has lines all the way down it and they know

Posted Jan 13, 2018
sounds like somebody slamming doors all the time. Also, lines all down the TV and they knew about it when they put me in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize for the noise and service issues you encountered while you were here and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate team members and managers to ensure a better outcome going forward. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Would not recommend

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Wish I had followed my instincts and not checked in at all. One sign posted in the check in office made it clear as to why not to stay at this facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Anon, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are terribly sorry for falling short of your expectations during your visit. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future so we can provide you with the superior hospitality that we typically deliver. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Disappointing

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Cons: Needs to be thoroughly cleaned
We’ve stayed at extended stay hotels before but this one was awful. We checked in late after driving for 8 hrs, Richmond is our half way point to our final destination in Savannah. Minimally, we expected a clean comfortable room but it was not. It was filthy. The floor was sticky and every surface looked like it had been cleaned with a muddy cloth. I spent the first 45 min cleaning the room. The bed was comfortable and the water was hot, but do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Bad version of Goldilocks

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: trash cans, trash, the smell of smoke, dogs, and noise
Location: location is good for easy access to the highway.
The hostess was pleasant....that was about all that was good. My family had arrived around 9P into this hotel after a long 300-mile drive to get to this area. There are trash cans and trash all over the complex. The first room they assigned us was located on the third floor. As we gather our luggage and go to the solitary elevator, it was out of service. We had to schlep our luggage up three levels to our room. We enter start to unpack only to realize that the toilet in the room had a significant leak. Repacked all of our clothes and walk back down. The hostess gives us another room on the second floor. Before we unpack I check out the room. This room was another problem room. The TV, phone, and lights did not work. Went back down and informed the hostess again. Off to the third room. The third room was also on the second floor. All seemed to be in proper order as well as fatigue getting the best of us so we settled in. The whole night was restless for all. The full-size fridge was very noisy. The people below us had dogs and were heavy smokers. Thankfully we would only be here for one night, morning can't come soon enough. The included breakfast consisted of coffee and granola bars. Never again to this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Joe, thanks for highlighting the areas of our development. On behalf of our team, we sincerely apologie that you faced so many difficulties while being here. Your feedback is important to us, so it has been shared with appropriate individuals in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. Counting on your kind generosity to accept our apology, we hope you will consider returning to our hotel on your next visit to this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I made a bad choice.

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Cigarette odor that filled the room. This was a non smoking room.
Cons: Don't stay here.
The room I booked was a non smoking room. However, the room I was given had a very strong odor of cigarettes. I called the front desk and explained the situation and to ensure I was not charged for room cleaning services. The odor was strongest in the bathroom/shower area of the room. The stay at this hotel was very unpleasent and I would not recommend this hotel to another guest. Their are many other hotels in the area that are much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Hotel Management  , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced, as well as the fact that we did not completely address these to your total satisfaction. We have procedures in place to keep such mistakes from happening, and these procedures will be reviewed with our housekeeping team to make sure they are being followed each and every time a room is cleaned. We can absolutely do better, so we hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to provide the service and hospitality that you expect and deserve from our brand. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place, good location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Very nice for a reasonable price. Kitchen facilities are good, and staff provided extra things like dishes. Provided breakfast not great; just packaged muffin, but the coffee is good. Overall nice place and comfortable bed,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Rita, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are glad to read you liked our affordable rates and convenient location. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Ok hotel to stay a weekend.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: That it has a kitchen.
Cons: Needs an oven too.Kitchen table, cabinets, top of refrigerator not wiped down at all.Kitchen utensils should have already been in the room & cleaned.
Location: Near everything!! Walmart literally 5mins or less away.
It was ok. Could be better. The decor in the room could use a bit more modernness to it. I love the green and brown tones but needs to be modern. The chair in front of the window needs to be more modern, needs new stove tops. Overall ok experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are glad to know you had a good time here and were satisfied with all that we offer. Thanks again for your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Welcome

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I made reservation through Expedia but I received a terrible service from the hotel. My past experience with the hotel was but this one was is really bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We cannot apologize enough for the poor service you received during your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with our team to be sure we meet the high standards you expect from our brand every single stay. We would welcome an opportunity to accommodate you once more and earn your highest marks. Sincerely, Hotel Management