Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Are you kidding me?

Posted Sep 29, 2016
I can't write enough good things about this hotel. We arrived mid afternoon to a Piper playing, we relaxed in very comfy chairs in front of the fireplace while waiting for our dinner (I feel asleep actually) . Then we were treated to a sumptuous meal. Afterwards we had a few beers while chatting with the friendly staff.. It was thoroughly enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Historic Stay

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds and historic building. Friendly staff!
Cons: Definitely the road leading in....suspect this will be an inconvenient fix but it's a must.
Location: Very close drive to Dumfries and many small towns. Enjoyed suppers in some small villages nearby.
I thought it was so cool to stay in Castle and see the old historic way of life. The grounds are amazing and ever so peaceful sitting on the front lawn enjoying a beverage. Arriving home and reading the information sheet the hotel gave me on the background of Friars Carse into the 1500's, made me more so appreciative. Be sure to ask for it and read it during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Atmosphere - Low Cost

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The lake and ambiance of the wooded area. The castle looking hotel structure.
Cons: I would suggest updating something in each room so that your visitors, who are highly critical, would at least feel like a detail has been taken care.
This is a budget hotel. If you go in with this in mind, you will no doubt feel like the ambiance of the outside and eating areas make up for what you may not be happy with. As a frequent traveler, we do not want to pay expensive room prices all the time. We felt like this budget hotel was a good change from all the rest. The food was good, the breakfast plentiful, and the atmosphere calming. The rooms are outdated and tired - most who travel would expect at least a clean bed and quietness. I would recommend this location to those who are staying over for 1-2 evenings and just want a peaceful night in a country hotel that looks like a castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Corrimal NSW Australia

Beautiful old country house

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Everything was fine, very comfortable, and very good staff.
Location: A bit out of town, great gardens and river for walking and fishing.Some history re Robbie Burns......but also great for just reading in the lounge!
A pleasure to stay at this lovely property. Beautiful grounds to wander. Room was lovely and tastefully decorated. I wish we had time to stay more than the one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pretty Location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Lovely spot and pretty hotel shame out weather didn't let us explore the grounds. Heads up the entrance drive can be hard to spot despite the road signs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel very comfortable,clean and warm

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: clean warm good beds and good food
Cons: the windows could do to be renewed
Location: dont know as it was a wedding we were at but it is close to dumfries if you wanted to shop,there is a lovely lake at the hotel well worth a walk round
we were at a wedding and stayed at this hotel,the only thing that i could fault was the reception was in a markey it was alright to start with but as it got later it was so cold as the doors are open all the time,was glad to go back down to the hotel to get warm otherwise it was lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackson from Ayr

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: The warm friendly atmosphere & the character of the building & its furnishings.
Cons: A bit more variety offered on the main menu - would have loved a fish option.
Location: Setting is superb & packed full of history. Walks in the grounds & if you are a fisherman - well it's simply heaven on earth !
Lovely hotel with a warm friendly atmosphere. The staff were friendly yet professional & the overall Customer Service was excellent. The room was clean, well kept & couldn't be faulted. The food was very good & the restaurant service attentive & good. The setting & grounds are beautiful. Overall it was a great stay & in our view value for money - especially as we opted for an offer package. We will be returning with our daughter & family dog very soon. The fact that the hotel is dog friendly is a huge bonus for us & we would be very happy to pay the supplement required for the dog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Nice Country Treasure

Posted Sep 9, 2011
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on September 4th, 2011. I was in a superior class room (Oak), which had a lovely bay window with two chairs in a sitting area. It felt very spacious and nicely appointed - a good value for the money. Both the sleeping area and bathroom felt clean. The bar/sitting area on the main level was wood paneled and very cozy (fire was lit in fireplace). With just a little imagination, you could almost feel like a lord of lady of the manor. I wish I would have had more time to explore some of the trails and sights around the property. The turnoff for the hotel was well-marked from the main road. It is a former estate, so a little outside of the town, which is what I was looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zaandam

een heus kasteel

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: dat het een kasteel was
Location: we waren op doorreis; prachtige omgeving!
heerlijk verblijf, ook al was het voor 1 nacht, in een heus kasteel; hele ruime kamer; prettige lounge waar we lekkere high tea hebben genoten; zeer goede prijs/kwaliteit verhouding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schleswig-Holstein

Wunderbar gelegenes Herrenhaus im Park mit Fluß

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: s.o.
Cons: Eigentlich nicht nötig.
Location: In der Nähe von Dumfries, aber wer hier absteigt braucht nichts anders als die angebotene Natur.
Die Lage ist bestechend schön und das Haus, obwohl alt, ist im sehr gutem Zustand. Das personell ist besonders freundlich und hilfsbereit und das Restaurant ist wirklich gut. Also empfehlenswert!!