Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

A good stopover hotel on way to Svotland

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: It was friendly
Location: Go and see the Devil's Porridge Museum and the Blacksmiths Shop
The Hotel is in Gretna not Gretna Green as we found out. Gretna was created for munitions workers in World War I in 2015 producing the 'Devil's Porridge'. It is near to Gretna Green and the main roads in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Helens U.K

Nice clean hotel close to Blacksmith Shop

Posted Jun 4, 2016
I only stayed the one night for my daughters wedding, but cannot fault the room or staff. It was clean and quiet and the food was well done.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, great accommodation and a wonderful breakfast
5 out of 5
by Vincent from Crieff

The Gables

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
There for business,perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with the friendliest staff

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: A relaxed, family run hotel, but what makes it extra special are its staff who are excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: On a quiet road, 5 minutes from Gretna Outlet Stores, Old Blacksmiths Museum and shops and railway station - 10 minutes to Carlisle.
Very warm welcome on arrival. Our room was clean, well furnished with a comfortable bed and the ensuite was clean with an over bath shower - lots of hot water. The food was delicious and helpings were substantial. Plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner which could be taken in the lounge bar or restaurant and good choice of wines by the glass or bottle. You could just sit/relax/read in the lounge bar or sit outside if the weather was suitable. It would be hard to find a hotel with friendlier and more helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Returning home

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Nice room and staff
Cons: Make sure meals are warmer
Location: N/a
He hotel was nice and quiet and a good place to stop on the long journey home
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late after the kitchen was closed. The receptionist asked if we would want anything to eat and immediately arranged for sandwiches to be brought to our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee, Scotland

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Good food, nice area close to local attractions
Cons: Mini fridge in rooms and a safe
Location: Devils Porrige Museum, Blacksmith Shop, Carlise Castle
Great hotel, room and ensuite were modern and very clean. Staff were hepfull and polite. Bar is bright and I was only £2.50 for a Pimms and Lemonade bargain prices. Food in restaurant is wholesome homemade and yummy. My husband and I were due to go to Rome for our honeymoon but due to illness we were not fit to fly, so instead we stayed here for a few days. There were two weddings on two of the three nights we stayed and we did not hear either. Sound proofing in the function suite is very good as long as the doors are closed. We were in room 38 which is very far away from the function suite and both functions ended at 11pm and we heard neither. Breakfast was very good and the wait staff from morning to evening were particularly friendly and helpful. We went to the Devils Porrige Museum that tells the tale of the largest munitions site in Britain in WW1 it's just a five minute drive down the road and well worth a visit. We also went to Carlise Castle a 25 minute drive away and to the Gretna green blacksmiths. Only niggle is that there are mini fridges in any of the rooms, the receptionist put my water in the kitchen fridge for me but still it is very tedious not to have a fridge in the room.