Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

convenient.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
handy stopover en route to Scotland. Close to the motorway. excellent food, comfortable bed, staff always friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

easy to find ideal place

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: location good, just of the motorway [blacksmiths hotel for sightseers near by] and gretna outlet is 15 minute walk.
warm welcome by kate. room ok for one night but a bit cool and to much light due to thin blinds. evening meals and breakfast great and welled served by pleasantly nice staff. would stay again but different room.
4 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could do better

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
it's a lovely pub with rooms. pub side it's great with good food reasonable drink prices, however rooms aren't good for business travelers. there was no desk or seat in my room (room 9), and in the 3 days I stayed was only cleaned once.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Bristol

A great halfway house

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, great location. Stayed one night on the way to the highlands, fantastic location with lots of history.
3 out of 5
by Mr. Barry from Lincoln

Thank you Hazeldene for a lovely stay.

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
The toilet needed attention, it did not flush. One of the tea cups was cracked and leaked. The staff were very good all of them were very polite and helpful and cheerful.
4 out of 5
by Gary R from Sunderland

Great find in Gretna Green

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Went to Gretna green on business so decided to take my wife along for the shopping at the Gretna Gateway which is about about a mile away from this hotel/pub/restaurant. Nice welcome on arrival, we were Shown to our room and advised of the facilities. We had something to eat from the carvers as it was a Sunday. We then had something to eat on the nighttime as well. Overall the food was very nice the room was comfortable and welcoming, and the staff attentive without being overbearing. I would definitely stay here again as the prices were also very reasonable.
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Macclesfield

Stop over break

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was split into two for us and the kids with a tv in each. Staff friendly and food great. Would stay again.
1 out of 5
by LEE

Don't do it

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hated it. The young lad at check in was rude, the shampo had hairs over it and was used. The bath had hair in it and wifi wasn't free... Neither was breakfast. You can stay in much better b&b's for the same cost with everything included.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2015
This was probably the best value hotel I've ever stayed in. Arrived late (21:30), so never had a chance to try dinner, but breakfast was outstanding. Didn't expect much for the price, but had a big delicious breakfast that got me right through the day until dinner. Room was fairly spacious and clean, with a comfortable double bed. Fantastic value.