Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fife

Comfortable clean and cosy

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly welcome. Food was plain but fresh. Good value.
Location: Short walk from retail park. Blacksmith anvil tourist attraction close by for weddings.
Made welcome during our short break. Close to retail park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mmmmm

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Stayed in an external annex, no problem with that. Carpet was filthy, Wi-Fi did not work. Worst was the kitchen fan which could easily be heard in the room with all windows and doors closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if you get in the main building

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Hotel nice but we were put in the block away from the main building, which basically looked like a converted garage. The room was small, dated & the bathroom was in need of refurbishment. As we were part of a wedding party & aware that the hotel was full we did not request another room and "made do" for our stay. The food in the hotel was nice & all the staff members were really friendly. So my advice if you are going to book is to request a room in the main building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.I.

Not What We Expected.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Looking for a one night stop at a Dog Friendly Hotel in Gretna we chose The Solway Lodge Hotel from information and photos on their web site. When we arrives we were faced with a 'step back in time' feeling. The Hotel was definitely NOT what we expected. Firstly our room was outside in what could only be described as a 'holiday camp' situation. My wife is disabled so it was fortunate that the weather was kind as there was a short walk in the open air to get into the Bar/Dining Room of the Hotel. We dined in the Hotel in the bar area which was 'adequate' if a little dated. However the evening meal was pleasant but the service was slow and very haphazard. The next morning the breakfast was delicious and the waiter very helpful and attentive which gave the whole experience a pleasant ending. In conclusion - If you are a dog lover the Dog Friendly aspect of this Hotel is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Great Hotel To Stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Very clean. Great menu. Breakfast included in price of stay. Meals were superb. Staff extremely friendly and nothing was to much trouble. well done.
Cons: nothing.
Location: Petrol station very close. The shopping outlet was within 2 to 3 minutes walk. Very good with plenty of choice of shops for evereyone.
Used this Hotel as a stop off on the way to Scotland and on return trip. A great place which I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a good place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montrose

Good for a one night stop over

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Just wanted somewhere to break up our journey overnight. From arrival our dog was welcomed by all the staff. Even though he wasn't allowed in the hotel ( which meant we had to go out for takeaway pizza for tea), he was given a sausage for breakfast. Ideally situated for shopping in the outlet centre. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, nice breakfast & good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location to visit Hadrian's wall.

Posted May 19, 2016
Very friendly staff. Nice Scottish breakfast. Clean, comfortable hotel. Only problem was WiFi & television connections were not very good. To post pictures to Facebook needed to sit by check in desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great staff and customer service

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Staffs are really friendly, the check-in time was afternoon but one of the staff let us check-in at 8 am, really enjoyed. Highly recommended to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel with good nearby location to motorway

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Staff were very friendly and informative. The room was very good and the food including selection was very good. Major village outlet close by. Also attraction was only a few minutes drive.