Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North NZ

Great base for exploring the South West Scotland

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Good Parking, big restaurant, 24 hr desk, A/C
Cons: Nil
Location: Robbie Burns Centre, Dalbeattie, Kirkculdbright.
We had a number of small towns to visit but wanted somewhere big enough to enjoy the services. This hotel was a great mix of heritage and new accommodation. Excellent value for money with A/C and large rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Beautiful location in very peaceful grounds

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Great hotel
Very positive experience. Would love to come back here. Staff were especially pleasant and breakfast delicious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton, OH

Great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great check in Great room. Great Service. Great food. Easy check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Everything. the whole experience proved very nice.
Cons: Minor criticism if any, would be that there are no tumblers in the bathrooms for guests to rinse out their mouths after brushing their teeth
Location: Locatin is fine on the edge of town. A nine hole golf course is a few minutes drive away at a very reasonable price.ath
The 2nd time I have used this hotel and will definately be revisiting. Staff were exeptionally friendly and pleasant. The hotel grounds are wonderfully kept and with the new nearby Spa and Restaurant .. It all adds up to a lovely stay ... Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Completely different experience from previous trip

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
As to be expected a clean room towels bed and staff could not do enough. I am also going next Wednesday and Thursday, so looking forward to it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel, difficult to find

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Room circulation.
Used while traveling from rental on east coast to one on the west coast. Missed the Holiday Inn sign as we entered a campus complex. Rooms added to an older building. Clean and large but very warm. Opened the window but the room never cooled down. Beds comfortable, staff friendly, and breakfast was outstanding.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Stopover

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay at the holiday inn in Dumfries. Great location and brilliant breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shops and beautiful location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The room had a beautiful view, the shower drains were clogged and not sure if it were properly cleaned prior to staying, the bed was comfortable and it were nice to be supplied with bottled water and daily change of linen and towels, overall good stay.
5 out of 5
by Karim

Great last minute booking

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Last minute booking while driving from London to Scotland. The hotel staff were very accommodating even though we arrived late they were willing to keep the kitchen open until we had ordered. Super friendly & super accommodating... 10/10
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were absolutely brilliant and hugely supportive - nothing was too much trouble. (We wanted to be near the hospital and sadly we were bereaved during our stay). They were kind, attentive and remembered our needs and wants at, what was for us, a highly emotional time - I can not thank them or praise them highly enough. However I was less than impressed by the quality of the cleanliness of the room. We stayed three nights and the sink, glasses and cups not cleaned or towels sorted. The bed was not well made. It was disappointing service. However, the stay was saved by the great front desk staff, the waitress service and the delicious food served.