Ratings based on 1,663 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.ireland

nice hotel in lovely location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Cons: television provision, cost of movies, cost of swimming extras like hats and flipflops, better heating in bathrooms and bedrooms.
Location: love this little town with its beautiful coastal walks, park, craft markets, quirky shops and cafes restaurants
We stayed during December and found the hotel lovely with great staff and great location however our room in the new part of the building was very cold even with the heat on all night and there really was a poor selection of tv channels and not very nice coffee. We didn't go swimming in the end because we didn't want to pay extra money for swim hats and flip-flops which were not provided for residents nor recommended to us to bring. Our first nights sleep was disturbed several times by other noisy, lost residents knocking our door at 2am, 3am etc and the second night the fire alarm was maliciously set off between 4-5am. Just a bad weekend for us but the staff were really super and gave us a free breakfast and extra hours before checkout as compensation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel out of the busy Dublin downtown.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
East access to Dublin center by cab or train. Great place to crash and relax after a busy day. Restaurant very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Large rooms with king size bed. Good location with easy access to the train into Dublin.
Cons: The second bed in our room could be better quality and more specific directions to the hotel would have been nice.
The pull out bed was rough, but they brought extra padding very quickly when we asked. The staff was wonderfully helpful and very pleasant. Quiet room, nice amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from munster

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Nice hotel, great location and very professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Dun Laoghaire is a great location.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The hotel is kept beautifully. The pier is perfect for a walk and the DART is close by and will take you all over Dublin. A perfect south side hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Disappointed

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Hotel is hidden behind a mall. Difficult to find. Rooms are dated. Poor water pressure in the shower. Tiles cracked in bathroom. Bathtub enamel fading and required replacing. Door hooks missing and filled in with wood putty. Sloppy paint job in bathroom. No European plugs only UK plugs (yes there's a difference) Room required a complete Reno. Not a 4 star hotel. Had to said 15 min to park. The ticket booth was out of tickets. My wife had to go into the hotel as no one was answering the help calls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Donegal Town

Absolutely wonderful, convenient and faultless!

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were very efficient, polite and friendly. Our executive room was luxuriously spacious with a super king size bed.......sooo comfortable!
Cons: Unless they could provide dancing girls in the bedroom,(joking ! ) I could absolutely no scope for improvement !!!
Location: The main shopping street and also the sea front board walk are just a few minutes walk away. Lots of different eating options in both areas.
We checked in online from Faro airport and arrived at the hotel at a busy time around 5.30pm that evening.We parked in the free underground car park, check in was fast, efficient and friendly. I inquired about the possibility of a sea view and was given a free upgrade to an executive room overlooking the pier/bay area.....fantastic!!! Unfortunately, on our return from 3 wonderful weeks on the Algarve, we had to attend a family funeral near Kilpeddar, County Wicklow the next day which was the reason for our belated overnight stay. However, having experienced the drive through the Glen of the Downs and seen the proximity of numerous other famous landmarks such as Roundwood, Powerscourt House & gardens, Glendalough's ancient Monastery etc etc, we decided that a return 2 or 3 day stay at the Royal Marine Marine Hotel is a must for 2018 bucket list ! Looking forward to that already!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

A lovely hotel with friendly service

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Lovely surrounding, right in the centre of town. Large room and good facilities.
Location: Very convenient for shopping and a short walk to the sailing clubs. A number of good restaurants in the town.
Lovely room, very good food, friendly staff and we enjoyed some time in the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly. Really clean and the food is good too. Hotel very near dart which is great to be able to park the car and hop onto dart.
Cons: Have some bottles of water in the rooms upon arrival.
Location: Powerscourt Estate and waterfall, Glendalough, Greystones, Dalkey and Howth all worth a visit.
A beautiful hotel with great staff. Perfect location to visit other places nearby. Highly recommend a stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newry

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Stayed in the hotel for one night to celebrate our enganent.. had a wonderful time